The Fortnumization Project – Painting the Hive

Things were going well!

I found the perfect shade of  eau de nil to paint the hive wooden ware. It is virtually indistinguishable from the color of the Fortnum & Mason Hives. It is a pale aquamarine, almost white.

Eau de Nil Painted Hive Stand

But after a few hours of painting, things weren’t progressing well.

I’m not talking about the fact that painting is really boring. Now I know where the expression “like watching paint dry” comes from.

I’m not even talking about the fact that both my cat and my dog have eau de nil-colored splotches on them. I’m sure those will come off eventually.

It’s the fact that after three coats of paint, I could still see wood grain. Very un-Fortnumy.

Visible Wood Grain

So I did a little online research on painting beehives.  And guess what? It’s best to slap a couple of coats of primer on first!!

Not only will the paint look better, but it will protect your wooden ware better too!

No wonder my other hive is not looking  so beautiful these days…

So, if you need me, I’ll be painting…

4 thoughts on “The Fortnumization Project – Painting the Hive

  1. PJ Girl says:

    What a gorgeous colour – your hive will look so pretty it will be worth all the hard work. I hope you get the paint off your cat and dog okay! 🙂

  2. Ryan says:

    The color looks great!

Leave a Reply

