Oh My Deer!

It’s a beautiful Ash Wednesday in Southern Ohio, and I was outside visiting my bees when I noticed that the neighborhood deer had been snacking on the tips of my rose bushes. They’re starting early this year!

They're Only Cute When It's Not Your Garden!

Time to brew up a batch of my never-fail deer repellent. Actually, I have several recipes.

Here they are:

FROM: http://www.farminfo.org/pests
3 raw eggs
3 tbls. of red hot sauce
3 tbls. of garlic juice or minced
Add enough water to a blender to process and mix well. Add this to a gallon of water and spray on plants. You can make the spray last longer by adding Wilt Proof to it.

FROM: A Minnesota Master Gardener at http://www.extension.umn.edu/yardandgarden/AAMG/wildlife
Blend 2 eggs and a cup or two or cold water at high speed. Add this mixture to a gallon of water and let it stand for 24 hours. After 24 hours, spray on foliage. The egg mixture does not wash off easily, but re-application 2-3 times a season may be needed. For a larger quantity, blend a dozen eggs into 5 gallons of water. This mix is also said to repel rabbits.

FROM: http://www.Rutherford County.org

6 eggs
4 hot peppers or enough to make it very hot
6-12 gloves of garlic, enough to make it stink
5 cups of warm water.
Put it all in a blender and liquify it. Put it in an old milk jug. Set it out for a couple of days in the sun to let it cook and get really stinky and hot. Strain it good if you want to use it in a sprayer. You can also pour it on and/or around the plants directly from the jug.

FROM: Backyard Magazine

1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 Tablespoon of cooking oil
1 Tablespoon of dish soap
Add 1 gallon of water and shake well. Spray or sprinkle on plants every two weeks or after heavy rain.

FROM: Kreftmeyer Fine Gardens/Missouri Botanical Gardens
2 eggs
1 cup skim milk
1 cup water
2 Tablespoons liquid dish detergent
Put all in blender and spray.

I personally use a combination of all of the above ingredients. I don’t want to take any chances.

These really work, and I end up spraying all of my neighbors’ yards too. The only downside is that with all that hot sauce, our yards smell like barbecue for a day or so.

Good luck!

5 thoughts on “Oh My Deer!

  1. Sharon says:

    Thanks for these recipes! Very timely, as the deer have already been doing damage to my lilacs and mock orange…

    • I think it’s the warm weather. I was shocked to see that the nibbling has already started.
      These recipes really work, the smellier the better. If the eggs are rotten and the milk is spoiled, you’ve got deer-repellent gold!!
      The great thing is that after a while the deer steer clear. And you don’t have to spray it. Just splash it on.

  2. Michelle says:

    The deer have been around me too, and coincidentally I first spotted them on Ash Wednesday right around dark. I have NEVER found a deer repellent that works, so I’ll try yours this year!

    • These recipes really work! The smellier the better! 🙂

      Deer don’t like the smell of anything onion-y (like Vampires!) and they don’t like dairy or hot spices. Just pretty flowers and hosta….

  3. Reblogged this on Romancing the Bee and commented:

    This is a good time to reblog this. The flowers are out and the deer are in the buffet line!!

Leave a Reply

