A Beautiful Agastache

Hyssop boiled with rue and honey, and drank, helps those that are troubled with coughs, shortness of breath, wheezing and rheumatic distillation upon the lungs.”  Dioscorides

Bees love Agastache, aka Hyssop, but I’ve been less than impressed with most of the varieties I’ve planted. The last one I tried looked like a tall scraggly weed. It ended up in the compost pile.

I’m creating a new bee-friendly English border, and I really want to include Agastache. After combing the catalogues, I’ve finally found one I like,  Agastache aurantiaca ‘Apricot Sprite’.

It has bicolor blooms of peachy apricot on long, slender stems, and grayish-green foliage with an anise scent that intensifies in the summer heat.

It’s not tall and gangly like other varieties I’ve planted.  It’s just 2 feet high (in bloom) and somewhat less wide.  It begins blooming in early summer and continues until late summer, especially if the first flowers are cut promptly.

It’s deer and rabbit resistant, too!

6 thoughts on “A Beautiful Agastache

  1. PJ Girl says:

    Gorgeous colour and it looks lovely with purple.

  2. I hope it looks as good as the picture!

  3. mossandivy says:

    I bought this one last year, and it is truly wonderful. I fear I may have to have more this year, the scent of the leaves alone is so delicious! As a side note- I put a picture of your hive on my pinterest page and other people love it as much as I do….so pretty.
    -Susan

  4. […] A Beautiful Agastache (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

