Poison Ivy

Poison Ivy in Spring

I know it’s really spring because I have my first case of poison ivy.  It’s hard for me to believe, though. The weed I pulled up was so darn tiny I wasn’t sure it was really PI.  But it was.

I’ve come up with a new method of weeding as a result.  I’m putting my hands in plastic bags, pulling up the PI, then throwing it away, bags and all. I’ll let you know how it works.

The Bad News  –  According to the Wall Street Journal, research indicates that poison ivy has gotten MUCH nastier since the 1950’s. Leaf size and nasty oil content are way up.

The Good News  –  Poison ivy absorbs more than its share of CO2, so it’s helping combat climate change. Amazingly, there IS something to love about this plant.

4 thoughts on “Poison Ivy

  1. Susan says:

    I’m sorry you had to suffer but I appreciate the advice. I’m not sure if poison ivy grows in England or has another name, I hadn’t heard of it until I moved to N. America.

  2. Becky says:

    Hope your new method works out. Poison ivy is no fun!

Leave a Reply

