Kentucky Honey Jam Cake With Caramel Icing

Kentucky jam cake is a spice cake with blackberry jam, frosted with caramel frosting. My mother used to make it for my dad. It was his favorite dessert!

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces (1 cup) butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup seedless blackberry jam
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 cup chopped raisins or dates

Preparation:

Cream butter and sugar until light. Blend in honey.Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.Combine flour, soda, salt, and spices in a separate bowl; add to the first mixture alternately with buttermilk; beating well after each addition.Blend in the jam, chopped pecans, and raisins or dates. Pour into 3 round greased and floured 8 to 9-inch cake pans. Bake at 325 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes, or until a cake tester or wooden pick comes out clean when inserted in center. Cool in pans on racks for 15 minutes. Carefully invert onto racks to cool completely.
Caramel Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • dash of salt
  • 3/4 cup cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preparation:

In large saucepan,combine ingredients and mix well to blend. Bring to a boil; cover and cook 3 minutes. Uncover and cook to 238° on candy thermometer or until soft ball forms when dropped in cold water. Cool for 3 minutes. Beat until thick and spreadable. It should begin to lose its glossiness.Spread on layers and over sides of cake.
As you frost the cake, the frosting might become too stiff. Add a little hot water whenever necessary to make it spreadable. Dip the spatula in hot water to smooth frosting out if needed.
Makes enough to frost 2 to 3 layers.

8 thoughts on “Kentucky Honey Jam Cake With Caramel Icing

  1. betsydaley says:

    my favorite dessert too . . .and haven’t even had a bite of it yet!

  2. Deborah says:

    this tastes fantastic! I made it for the hubby’s bday (without nuts/raisins). Had a bit of batter left over because I was making small cakes, and so made mini cupcakes. They don’t even need frosting! I found your site while browsing for bee information (my husband and I want to have our own hive) but I am so glad I happened across your blog – its beautiful!

    • Thank you so much! Your comment freaked me out a little because my mother used to make this cake for my father’s birthday and my name is Deborah. Which means “the bee” in Hebrew by the way!
      I hope you will start your own hive! Please let me know what info would be helpful to you. I am always afraid of being too “basic” for my readers.
      Thanks again,
      Deborah

  3. […] this bouncy beauty is Kentucky honey jam cake – Deborah’s recipe here. I happened to have some home made blackberry jam my manager had given me in the fridge, and was […]

Leave a Reply

