Deer Repellent 101

Yes, I know this is my second post on deer repellent today. I can’t help it. They nibbled the buds off my David Austin roses. I’m really angry. And it isn’t a good idea to make me mad.

So I’m mixing up a witch’s brew that will keep them away for weeks, if not the whole summer. This stuff is going to be brutal. It serves them right. It isn’t like they don’t have a whole forest of honeysuckle bushes to keep them fat and sassy.

I’m going to make a confession here.  I don’t use an exact formula. I use whatever I have hanging around the house that I know deer (and rabbits) hate.

To wit:

Hot sauce

Garlic (and/or anything else in the onion family)

Liquid dish detergent

Sour milk

Eggs, preferable rotten

Tonight’s Formula:

I have a quart of milk that’s been in my fridge since Christmas. I’ve been saving it for an emergency like this.

I bought two bottles of hot sauce because I knew this day was coming.

I have a jar of minced garlic and a half dozen eggs. Unfortunately they’re not rotten.

I’m mixing up the whole batch and for good measure, adding dish detergent and the remnants of a bottle of commercial deer repellent.

Then I’m going to let the whole mess fester until tomorrow morning when I administer my potion to my yard and the rest of the neighborhood.

Happy Earth Day, Deer!  This is what you get for eating my David Austin roses. I hope you enjoyed them.  It’s going to be honeysuckle bushes for you for the rest of the summer.

13 thoughts on “Deer Repellent 101

  1. Ha, loving your deer-repelling formulas (and writing style); all my relatives on Vancouver Island battle deer and Elk also, throughout the gardening season and their many different methods of repelling (short of making venison) have always failed. Now I know why Costco is selling those enormous 2-packs of Tobasco sauce.

  2. PJ Girl says:

    Go Deborah! I can just imagine you mixing up a stink… I’d be so upset if my roses were eaten!

  3. I come to you via Clover and Thyme. My eyes immediately dropped down to your post on deer as I share what I call a love/hate relationship with them. We have a resident herd. It is not unusual to have sixteen doe in the yard at once time. When the bucks are in heat, well, I won’t go there. I love to watch them and the fawns are so cute, but . . . they play havoc with everything but the daffodils and ferns. Good luck with your concoction. The only thing we have had any luck with is commercial deer repellent, such as Liquid Fence. Vile, vile stuff, but it works, for awhile.

    I love you blog and will return.

  4. Oh wow! My turn to share your pain Deborah – at least the worst pests to attack my David Austin roses are greenfly. I take my hat off to your imaginative deer repellent and hope it has the desired effect.

  5. Reblogged this on Romancing the Bee and commented:

    911 !!

  6. You might have noticed on my last post a photo of a bunny and a robin. Bunnio has adopted us, and we look somewhat benignly on it. Except when it gets in among my lettuce. I’m getting the hot sauce out of the cupboard right this second….

  7. Chato says:

    I am wondering if this concoction is safe for bees as we are trying our hand at bee keeping this year.

Leave a Reply

