First Honey Harvest

We’ve had an idyllic spring in Ohio this year. Nectar has been flowing since March. When we opened the hive today we found a whole super full of honey!

Our inspection of the hive was not without incident. My business partner Denis was there to help me lift the heavy deep supers. (I’m only using medium supers from here on out!)

Denis was determined to be a manly man and refused to wear a bee suit. He figures he got stung about ten times. He bore it well. I gave him two Benadryl and sent him home.

I realized I’d left my smoker near the hive, and, of course, it was smoking like a chimney!  I hurriedly put my bee suit back on and went to retrieve it.

Of course, I didn’t zip up the hood all the way. Now I know where the expression “having a bee in your bonnet” comes from!

I only got stung once, but it was right on my lower lip. That bee must have known how vain I am about my appearance!

Once again, I got stung while doing something stupid!

All in all, a very good day.  My bees are happy, healthy and very feisty!  It looks like it’s going to be a good year.

Tomorrow we’ll be extracting the honey!!

11 thoughts on “First Honey Harvest

  1. I know the post is about bees but your FOXGLOVES! Gorgeous.

  2. Emily Heath says:

    You poor thing, getting stung on the face is the worst. Hope it goes down soon.

    Very jealous of you having a super already! With all the rain we’re getting here we’ll be lucky to get one by the end of the summer

    • I’m not allergic at all, so it isn’t so bad. The soreness is almost gone. I kept thinking of Emma and her distress!
      I let my bees keep all their honey last year. I think that and our wonderful spring resulted in the surplus of honey. It is SOOO good!! 🙂

  3. Wow! Your gardens are well ahead, in my ignorance I thought an Ohio Spring would be much the same as an English one, shows just what you don’t know. Bee-keeping is certainly not for softies. I share your taste in plants by the way, although I’ve yet to introduce delphiniums – I hate to provide too much food for the slugs, they already have my hostas to feast on 😦

  4. attemptinggreen says:

    Congrats on your wonderful honey harvest! your recipes look delicious!

  5. […] First Honey Harvest (romancingthebee.com) […]

  6. […] First Honey Harvest (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Bee, Beekeeper, beekeepers, beekeeping, Bees, Honey, Urban Beekeeping and tagged Bee, Beekeeper, Beekeepers, Beekeeping, Bees, Food, Honey.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

