My New Little Garden Hive!

Well, the hiving of my Italians couldn’t have gone more smoothly!  No stings or any other type of bad mojo!!

I wanted to wait until my yard guys came and mowed, but both my bees and I were getting anxious!  It’s supposed to rain tomorrow and it was already getting cloudy. I decided to go ahead and install the package at 4:30 pm EST.

I used the Michael Bush method of hiving a package. I don’t spray the bees with sugar syrup and I don’t smoke them. I wear my full bee suit and make sure I have a big bottle of Chardonnay chilling in the fridge for afterwards!!

I dumped all the bees in the bottom of a medium super and then opened the Queen cage and put her down there too. I’ll retrieve the cage when I open up the hive again in three or four days.

Then I carefully placed all of the frames in the super, making sure they were close together. I use a hive top feeder, so that went on next, along with sugar syrup.

I don’t use an excluder and I don’t close up the hive. I’ll use an entrance reducer until they get settled and the colony gets strong enough to defend itself from robbing insects.

That’s it!  They were gentle and cooperative, as advertised!  I love them!!

Now it’s Chardonnay time!!

34 thoughts on “My New Little Garden Hive!

  1. I like your style, Deborah, as well as the title of your blog. 😉

  2. A Nature Mom says:

    Don’t you love it when a project goes as planned? I hope you enjoyed your glass of wine!

  3. bigsmileu1 says:

    I am fascinated by Bee Keeping and love that you wrote how you started a new hive. I know absolutely nothing about the subject, but would love to learn. Thank you for sharing your experiences. If I keep reading maybe someday I will be able to have my own hive in the backyard. I am not too sure I have the space for them. I will keep learning. I hope your wine was refreshing and relaxing. Enjoy! Happy Mother’s Day. 🙂

    • Thank you!! My yard is a postage stamp in the front and the side of Mt. Everest in the back. Bees forage for three miles, so you really don’t need much room. If you want any book recommendations or other advice, let me know!! 🙂
      Happy Mother’s Day to you too!!

      • bigsmileu1 says:

        Any books you know of for a beginner like me would be much appreciated. 🙂

      • The best beginner book is Beekeeping For Dummies, although I don’t treat my bees with chemicals and don’t believe in it. MIchael Bush’s Practical Beekeeping is my Bible, although it is not as good for absolute beginners. A combination of the two is perfect!!

      • bigsmileu1 says:

        Thank you so much. I will check out the pair of books and see what I can learn. 🙂

  4. Emily Heath says:

    What a pretty little hive with the flowers outside. Best of luck with your bees.

  5. Love the hive,so in keeping with your cottage garden too. They are hoping to set up a bee keeping association at work, I’ve signed up for it as it will be a great way to try it out, but would one day love to have a hive like this in my own garden.

  6. AmySue says:

    Congrads, love the new hive box design! Hope you enjoyed your wine.

  7. Love the hive ! 😉 what type of paint did you use? I would love to paint our hive, as we switch supers out of course 🙂 p.s.- your garden is beautiful!!!!!!

  8. willowbatel says:

    Look forward to hearing how things go! This hive looks smaller than the traditional ’10 frame langstroth’. Is it an 8 frame? Hives different from my own are always interesting, because it’s fun to see how the bees behave/survive differently in the differently spaces. Keep us posted!

    • It’s an 8 frame “Garden Hive” from Brushy Mountain. I’m not using deeps, just mediums. A full deep is just too heavy for me to lift!!
      I’m opening it up tomorrow after just four days to see if the bees need more space and/or food. I’ll let you know!!

      • willowbatel says:

        I’ve considered switching entirely over to mediums, because then everything is consistent and all the frames can be switched between boxes. That’s one of the things I think I’m really going to enjoy about my new Warre’ hive. The difference in frame size in the langstroth was bothersome.
        With a deep langstroth you’re ‘supposed’ to wait at least a week before opening it. Because this is a smaller hive, I wonder if the ‘wait’ time is shorter?

      • My other hive is a 10 frame, and I have all three sizes of supers. Frame replacement is like an IQ test!! I can never remember which parts go to which super.
        I am intrigued by Warre hives. I think they’re beautiful, and I’m looking forward to hearing about your experience with it!!
        Yes, I’ve always waited a week before first inspection, but Michael Bush says 3 to 4 days with a medium super, and his word is Law to me. 🙂

      • willowbatel says:

        oh gosh! What a mess that must be, haha.
        Thanks! I haven’t heard exactly how long I’m supposed to be waiting before I can open it (I split my langstroth hive into the Warre by a kind of shook-swarming method), but I think a week should be long enough.
        haha, ok good! I wondered where you’d gotten that number from and the reason behind it. But it makes sense that a smaller super would require less time to fill.

      • Michael Bush is my Bee Guru. What he says, I do. (Except for the Chardonnay after installation. That was my addition… )
        Also, these Italian bees are so busy, they make my head swim!! 🙂

      • willowbatel says:

        lol, if you do anything without a touch a alcohol, you’re doing it wrong. Except driving of course.
        Interesting! I’ve only ever had carniolan mixes. The first ‘batch’ I had were really calm and great, but do to an error on my part, they died during late winter. I got a package of ‘pure’ carniolans early last spring and they’re really aggressive, but they have a really strong spring build up, and despite the late start I was able to harvest 12 pints of honey at the end of the year.

      • My original hive of Buckfast bees is a little nasty. They are extremely disease resistant and don’t swarm, so a few stings on the face are tolerable.
        But I love hanging around the Italians who seem to love me no matter what I do… 🙂

      • willowbatel says:

        how many hives do you have?
        Yikes, those don’t sound fun. I’ll be sure to stay away from them, lol. I’m extremely allergic to bees (I know, the irony) so stings aren’t something I’m overly fond of! The bees used to follow us around the yard last year, and would even hang around our most common spots in the yard, waiting for us to come outside. Saying it that way makes it seem like they almost liked us! They would angrily buzz us though, and my mom got them caught in her hair several times. I’m hoping this split calms them down!

  9. I have two, one in my front yard and one in my back. I don’t want them drifting.
    After I extracted honey a few weeks ago from the Buckfast hive, I swear one bee chased me around for three days before finally ambushing me and stinging me on my face!!

  10. Gorgeous post and I love the beautiful hive! *covet*

  11. […] My New Little Garden Hive! (romancingthebee.com) […]

  12. […] My New Little Garden Hive! (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Bee, beekeepers, beekeeping, Bees, English Gardening, Flowers, Gardening, Gardens, Italian Bees, Urban Beekeeping and tagged Bee, Beehive, Beekeeper, Beekeepers, Beekeeping, Bees, Chicago Botanic Garden, Cottage gardening, English Garden, English Gardening, Flower, Garden, Home.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

  13. Your hive is so cute!!! I love that your bees are part of your garden. We love our bees and love spending time watching them. I was out of chardonnay this evening, so I had to resort to gin. : )

  14. […] My New Little Garden Hive! (romancingthebee.com) […]

  15. […] My New Little Garden Hive! (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Bee, Beekeeper, beekeeping, Bees, Honey, Inspecting the Hive, Italian Bees, Queen Cups, Queen Maria Amalia, Urban Beekeeping and tagged Bee, Beehive, Beekeeper, Beekeepers, Beekeeping, Bees, brood, Business, Honey, Italian bee, Queen bee, Sustainability, Syrup, Urban beekeeping.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

