I’m going to try this…

Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

In the years that I’ve been keeping bees at Brookfield Farm and my other bee yards I have seldom used a smoker.  Now it is true that with gentle, slow motions one can often dispense with smoke.

But that’s not the reason that I often forego the smoker, except on very defensive hives.  The simple fact is I just could never keep the smoker lit.  Happily, beekeeper Pat Ray has shed light on my delima, and my bee hive smoker now stays lit.

 

In the past, my smoker would light, and I’d work a hive.  After the first few blasts, I didn’t need the smoker.  Then I’d move to the next hive.  Very likey I didn’t need one there.  Luck doesn’t hold forever. At some point I’d hit a touchy hive and reach for my smoker, which would be out.

I tried different concepts:  Paper with bits of wood…

View original post 418 more words

4 thoughts on “

  1. MikeRoberts says:

    I do a similar thing, but I just light the burlap directly (I get it from the local coffee roasters), get it going well, then stuff it down in there, give it a few more puffs, then add a handful of freshly pulled green grass on top. I’m told this makes the smoke cooler. Hasn’t failed on me yet ..

  2. […] Success With Bee Hive Smokers (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Bee, Beekeeper, beekeepers, beekeeping, Bees, Installing a package of bees, Italian week, Lighting a bee hive smoker, Urban Beekeeping and tagged Agriculture, Animals, Bee, Bee smoker, Beehive, Beekeeper, Beekeeping, Honey, Italian bee, Italian Week, Urban beekeeping.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

