Honey Lemon Pound Cake With Lemon Icing

If you like the lemon pound cake at Starbucks, you will love this recipe!!

Ingredients

1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3 large eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup honey
2 Tablespoons salted butter, softened
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 teaspoon pure lemon extract
Juice from two medium lemons (approx 1/3 cup)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
Icing
1 cup plus 1 teaspoon powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons whole milk
1/2 teaspoon pure lemon extract
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Grease a 9×5 loaf pan well.
In a medium bowl mix flour, baking soda, and baking powder.
In mixing bowl or stand mixer, cream butter.  Add sugar,honey, eggs, vanilla, lemon extract, lemon juice and oil until mixed well.
Add dry ingredient mixture to your mixer and blend until smooth. No not over mix.
Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 45-50 minutes or until testing stick comes out clean. Edges should be a dark golden brown and will crisp upon cooling.
Let cake cool before icing.
For icing, blend powdered sugar, milk, and lemon extract until creamy. Ice the top of your cake and let the icing drip down the sides of your pound cake.  Let icing set before slicing.

18 thoughts on “Honey Lemon Pound Cake With Lemon Icing

  1. Can’t wait to try this one!

  2. I love lemon as much as honey – in a pound cake, I can already see I will be making this, hopefully for a crowd so that I don’t devour it all by myself. This looks yummy. Thanks.

  3. […] Honey Lemon Pound Cake With Lemon Icing (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Honey, Honey Blueberry Muffins, Muffins, Recipes and tagged Bake, Baking powder, Blueberry, Cook, Cooking, Flour, Food, Home, Honey, Honey Blueberry Muffins, Muffin, Recipes, Tablespoon.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

  4. Becca says:

    I’m a huge fan of honey lemon pound cake. I made one several months ago! http://brighthaven.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/what-im-eating-honey-lemon-pound-cake/

  5. […] Honey Lemon Pound Cake With Lemon Icing (romancingthebee.com) […]

  6. Food Stories says:

    I’ve enjoyed your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs, meet new web friends and pay it forward, so to speak. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great day!

  7. Sheryl says:

    Looks utterly delicious! Lemon and honey are the perfect combination!

  8. Mmmmm, looks delicious! Maybe a good cake to take to a party 🙂

  9. […] Honey Lemon Pound Cake With Lemon Icing (romancingthebee.com) […]

  10. messyme says:

    I would love so much to try this recipe. Do you think I can substitute extra honey instead of sugar. My husband is diabetic and honey does not seem to affect him the same way that sugar does. I try to find recipes that I can make for him and myself that have no sugar? Maybe I will just try it anyway and not put sugar. Thanks so much for this recipe. My mouth is watering right now just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

