Looking For Suggestions For London

I’m going to be blogging from London on beekeeping, gardening and cooking with honey from June 21 through 26. I would really appreciate any and all suggestions for my trip!

I’m going to be visiting the hives at Fortnum’s and taking the London Garden Walking tour, but I’m sure many of you out there know of great places to visit/write about!

Please feel free to post your suggestions on my blog or email me directly at ddelong@ddlconsulting.com.

I promise to take lots of pictures!!

27 thoughts on “Looking For Suggestions For London

  1. Emily Heath says:

    Suggestion #1: visiting Emma and I at our apiary! But only if you have time πŸ™‚ Where are you staying?

    If you wish to see gardens, Kew Gardens is the ultimate London garden for me: http://www.kew.org. It has huge indoor glass houses as well as the vast outdoor spaces, which is great when it’s raining.

    Richmond Park is a brilliant park, and free to enter: http://www.royalparks.org.uk/parks/richmond-park. It has wild deer herds just wandering around everywhere.

    On a smaller scale but more central is the lovely little Chelsea Physic Garden, full of medicinal plants: http://www.chelseaphysicgarden.co.uk. It has bee hives too, and a cafe serving delicious food.

    Please bring some sunshine with you! The wind is really howling today and broke my new umbrella into little pieces.

  2. msjacque says:

    you must have a proper tea…maybe in Paddington. cheers.

  3. msjacque says:

    oops five hours ahead..shortbread cookies and tea for bedtime was always my favorite comfort thing.

  4. babu says:

    Don’t miss the Borough Market (produce and food) and Spitalfields Market (everything)! And enjoy your trip. I look forward to seeing pictures!

  5. probably not totally bee related but I would always recommend a trip to the Chelsea Physic Gardens – a magical place with heaps of history and beauty.

  6. Ateneit says:

    You may like to try Golders Hill Park and the Pergola/Hampstead Heath – it is my favourite place in London to take pics of flowers throughout the year πŸ˜‰ there is also quite interesting London’s oldest botanical garden in Chelsea. Here are some of my pics from Golders Green and surroundings – http://ateneit.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/colours-of-pre-summer/ and http://ateneit.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/hampstead-heath/ I hope this will help πŸ™‚

  7. The Museum of Garden History, in Lambeth (nearest tube Lambeth North) is worth a look, I believe they have a pair of Gertrude Jekyll’s boots there. And then you are just across the river from Tate Britain.

  8. If you have time to leave London for a few hours, I would recommend Sissinghurst Castle. The garden and the design of the garden is like no other; the herb garden is iconic and there is a beautiful thyme carpet there as well. And a lovely little cafe for tea and scones while you wait to go in; they time the visits so that it doesn’t get too crowded. One of the loveliest gardens on the planet πŸ™‚

  9. I second Richmond Park and Hampstead Heath. You can take a boat ride down the Thames to Richmond. it’s a great way to see the city. Regents Park also has some nice gardens from what I remember. Also, I highly recommend the Sir John Soames Museum. If you want to be overwhelmed with flowers, go to Columbia Road Flower Market. It’s incredible. I would leave with arms full of flowers every time I went. Plus, the east end is a great neighborhood to explore. A bar everyone reccomended to me while I lived in London, but never made it to, was Gordon’s Wine Bar. It’s supposed to be amazing. There is a tapas place off of Hoxton Square near Old Street and the White Cube Gallery that I love (but forget the name). Tate Modern is excellent.

  10. […] Looking For Suggestions For London (romancingthebee.com) […]

  11. […] Looking For Suggestions For London (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Trip to London and tagged Bee, Beehive, Beekeeping, Fortnum, Fortnum & Mason, Half Moon Street, London, Pond.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

  12. I recommend Regents and St. Jame’s park, they are really lovely places to stroll and take in nature. The rose garden in Hyde Park is interesting too, but not sure if they are in bloom now. It’s a little touristy, but the food hall in Harrods is a real feast for the eyes, I recommend it highly.

  13. Agree with all of the above, Chelsea Physic Garden is an enchanting place with a beautiful restaurant the Tangerine Dream Cafe. Then, of course, there’s the Medicinal Garden (and museum) of the Royal College of Physicians which is lovely though I may be a little biased. We are next to Regent’s Park too πŸ™‚ And Selfridges have tea room on the fourth floor that do afternoon tea.

    Then don’t forget the British Museum (close to Holborn station) and the Natural History Museum (close to South Kensington station) which both have great exhibitions on πŸ™‚

    Phew! Hope you can do EVERYTHING!

  14. […] Looking For Suggestions For London (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

