My Favorite Cottage Garden Plant – My Grandmother’s Sweet Peas

Today my sweet peas bloomed. It was a special day for me. I grew my sweet peas from seed from the garden that my grandmother and great-grandmother tended.

My Grandmother’s Sweet Peas

Sweet Peas come in both annual and perennial varieties. It’s true that the annuals are showier vis a vis color and fragrance, but the so-called “Everlasting Pea” comes back bigger and better every year.

I have the perennial variety. It is also more tolerant of the heat and humidity of a Southern Ohio summer.

And my bees love it!!

I hope someday to pass down seeds to my daughter and granddaughter. It will truly be an Everlasting Pea.

17 thoughts on “My Favorite Cottage Garden Plant – My Grandmother’s Sweet Peas

  1. mossandivy says:

    How cool that you have seed from your grandmothers. I love this sweet pea too. I love all of them!

  2. I can smell them from here! Sweet peas remind me of my mum, because they’re her favourite flower. I love the colours, the pastel pinks and purples.

  3. My sweet peas are blooming now too. All types of bees seem to enjoy them. There is a lot to be said for these old fashioned plants.

  4. What a wonderful connection to have! Many of my women relatives were avid gardeners (and a few of the men!) and I treasure those connections. I think it was Gertrude Jekyll who said “The love of gardening is a seed once sown that never dies.” πŸ™‚

    • I love that quote!! Thanks so much for that!!
      Yes, I’ve loved gardening since I was a little girl, and I learned it from my mother, grandmother and great-grandmother. πŸ™‚

  5. Food Stories says:

    These are beautiful πŸ™‚

  6. katiepede says:

    I love sweet peas, they remind me of my Dad, mine haven’t flowered yet, but they look set to soon πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I finally found the place I went to when I last went to London, and wanted to share with you! It is a lovely little conservation area called Camley Street Natural Park.

    http://www.wildlondon.org.uk/Pages/Category.aspx?IDCategory=4fd545f7-a11e-4b85-b143-724a886ffa16

    It was amazing because it didn’t feel like we were in a City at all, and it is near to the famous Camden market which you can get to along the canal πŸ˜€ xxx

    • That’s it about Sweet Peas – they remind us all of loved ones.
      Thanks for the wonderful suggestion! I’ll be sure to check it out. I may have to extend my stay!! πŸ™‚

  7. Laila says:

    I love the idea of plants passing through generations. I have two Clivia Miniata which came as shoots from a plant that used to belong to my grandmother. This year I am growing sweet peas in honor of my grandfather, he used to grow them and the house always smelled of them in the summer. Great post and lovely photo’s!

  8. […] My Favorite Cottage Garden Plant – My Grandmother’s Sweet Peas […]

  9. […] My Favorite Cottage Garden Plant – My Grandmother’s Sweet Peas (romancingthebee.com) Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterDiggRedditTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  10. What a beautiful thing to be able to pass onto the next generation

Leave a Reply

