My Visit To Fortnum’s

I think they could spot me a mile away.  For one thing, I was the only person wearing trousers in Fortnum’s trademark color, eau de nil.

Which, for you Yankees out there, is a lovely aquamarine color, literally translated as “water of the Nile.”  (No, not the color of the Nile these days, but back when they found Moses in the bullrushes.)

Eau de Nil

Being from Ohio, I called my aquamarine trousers, “pants”, when a cute little bee landed on them.  Only then was I informed that “pants” means something very different in the UK, and was something one shouldn’t be blabbing about in polite company!

Anyway, in true Midwestern fashion, I arrived unfashionably early (30 minutes!) for my 10:00 am meeting with Jonathan Miller, Fortnum’s sweet grocery buyer, to tour the rooftop bee hives. I was terrified of sleeping through my meeting, especially since my body clock said it was 5 am!!

I had plenty of time to view Fortnum’s Jubilee window decorations, including my favorite one – the honey display.

I also I had time for tea in Fortnum’s charming Fountain Restaurant.  My tea was beautifully served from a silver teapot into a fine china teacup.  I felt very pampered!!

When it was finally time for my meeting, Mr. Miller informed me that he had been summoned to Highgrove (!!), but that Fortnum’s charismatic Bee Master Steve Benbow was being filmed for a television show about London, and that I would be welcome to tag along.

Now tell me, what could be better than that??  (Here’s a hint…Steve Benbow took me for tea afterwards to answer my bee-related questions!!)

More on my tea with Steve later.  For now, here are some pictures!!

12 thoughts on “My Visit To Fortnum’s

  1. Emily Heath says:

    “My tea was beautifully served from a silver teapot into a fine china teacup”

    We don’t quite have the same standard of crockery at the Ealing apiary, but we will do our best! See you tomorrow!

    • I’m looking forward to my visit to the Ealing apiary every bit as much if not more!! I’m wearing my bee suit and wellies!!
      Steve kept yelling at me “Don’t stand in front of the hives!!” 🙂

  2. Wow what a trip for you! So happy for you and all things Bees 🙂

  3. willowbatel says:

    This is fantastic! Who did you contact to set this all up? I’d love to do this for a vacation sometime, haha.
    Great pictures by the way!

  4. bigsmileu1 says:

    Looks like you are having a fabulous time. Great pictures and I cannot wait to hear the rest of the story. Have fun! 🙂

  5. Rachel says:

    Hope you enjoyed your trip Ealing yesterday! I have been passing your honey around at the office and at home and they all love it 😀

  6. Could there be a better day of honey and tea and beekeeping? I do not think so, but . . . your trip to Ealing has me intrigued now as well. Enjoy!

  7. […] My Visit To Fortnum’s (romancingthebee.com) […]

  8. aimee mone says:

    Hi, lovely post. Do you happen to know what the actual signature paint color is? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

