Independence Day – The Fourth Of July

It seems very odd to celebrate the United States’ declaration of independence from Great Britain  just a few days after my return from the  beloved Mother Country.

Maybe it’s wishful thinking, but I believe the two countries could be united very comfortably these days.  The “Special Relationship” and all…

But in 1776, Great Britain had long been a great nation of pomp and circumstance, while the New World was a wilderness populated with radical thinkers, adventurers, and sundry undesirables.  We were a troublesome colony, and revolution was inevitable.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my country.  I’ll post about the celebratory fireworks, parades, barbecues, carnivals, fairs, picnics, and concerts.

But I’ll remember that most of the rights and freedoms we enjoy today are those we brought with us from England.  And I remain convinced that our English heritage is stronger than the forces that drove us apart.

God Save The Queen!

20 thoughts on “Independence Day – The Fourth Of July

  1. GrayFoxDown says:

    Hear! Hear! My wife and I applaud your observations. She’s a Brit (from London) while I’m…well, I’m just a guy from Brooklyn, USA. Cheers!

    • I’m so happy to receive kudos instead of hate mail!!

      I believe this in my heart, but fully expected to be excoriated for my “un-American” views!
      Happy Fourth!!

      • GrayFoxDown says:

        The redneck mentality deems everything “un-American” that’s not in lockstep with their hackneyed points of view.

        Happy Fourth to You, too.

      • To quote Santayana, “Those who do not remember the past are doomed to repeat it.”
        I’m hoping the London Olympics will revive memories of a shared cultural heritage!! 🙂

  2. […] Independence Day – The Fourth Of July(romancingthebee.com) […]

  3. katiepede says:

    And look how we’ve both blossomed 🙂 x

    • Very true!! And we’re each endless sources of entertainment for the other!! 🙂

      • katiepede says:

        That’s true….. (Say “tomato”, please, please) 😉 xx

      • Most people want me to say “dime.” It goes on and on and sounds mostly like “daaaaaahme.” 🙂
        An English fellow gave me a free Coke if I would say it several times. 🙂

      • katiepede says:

        Ooooh so many words to say! I love the differences….. (note to self: if ever visiting U.S, stock up on bottles of coke to provide as payment for speech) ;-D xx

      • After only five days, I was “fancying” things, and declaring them to be “brilliant!” I still had that southern US accent though…. 🙂

      • katiepede says:

        I hadn’t realised that ‘fancying’ things and a declaration of brilliance was a British thing??

        However, I always fancy a cup of tea 😀 x

      • If I had been in London about a week longer, I would have sounded like a native! At least I wouldn’t say “pants” when I meant “trousers!”
        I miss hearing everyone speak the Queen’s English… 🙂

      • katiepede says:

        Yes, I remember when I was little thinking an Actor was very rude once because they were talking about removing their pants on an American tv program!….. (How many cups of tea did you average per day when you left)? x

      • Ha! !!
        Imagine me, daintily pointing out to Beemaster Benbow that I had a bee on my “pants” and could he please remove it! Eek!!
        I lost count of the cups of tea I was consuming when I left. I now drink tea with milk. Delicious!!

      • katiepede says:

        Is there any other way to drink tea? 😉 That is a funny story…. I am imaging it now 🙂 ha ha ha! I am sure it make everybody smile….. and it’s all good because I bet if I went to the US, I would forget and might ask for an rubber, meaning eraser….. (and that would go down badly methinks)! 😀 xx

      • That remark would cause great hilarity all around, and probably a few indecent proposals as well!! 🙂

      • katiepede says:

        Yes, I errr can imagine 😀 x

  4. […] Independence Day – The Fourth Of July (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

