The Dark Allure of Oxford

I didn’t post as much as I wanted about my visit to Oxford. Possibly because I found it to be so overwhelming.

The Bodelian

As I wrote in the prior post, the purpose of my visit to Oxford was to do research for a novel I’m writing, the main character of  which grew up in the University town. It’s a paranormal mystery, as is most of my fiction writing, and Oxford’s history is rife with tales of practitioners of the occult sciences.

The Bridge Of Sighs – That Tells You Something!

The Radcliffe Camera in Oxford, England as vie...

For one thing, it is so very OLD.

We in the US consider the White House to be old.  Buildings in Oxford date back to the 12th century.

The Ashmolean

But there is something else, something more sinister.

I believe that places absorb the energies of activities that have taken place there. Perhaps the centuries of intense mental concentration and inquiry have changed Oxford somehow.  All I know is that I felt drained on my trip back to the City.

Or maybe it was just jet lag.  🙂

4 thoughts on “The Dark Allure of Oxford

  1. SimplySage says:

    Amazing. I’ve always been fascinated by Oxford. It’s got such a rich hostelry. So many scholars and yes, VERY old buildings.
    More pictures please. These are beautiful. I’m sure you found a lot of sources for your novel.
    Peace,
    Alexandria

    • That’s another strange thing about Oxford. I took a few pictures and my camera battery was drained!! And it was a new battery …
      Yes, I found a lot of inspiration for my novel. 🙂

  2. You must have seen the Inspector Morse and/or Lewis series on TV (Inspector Morse is also a series of books)? They take place in Oxford and the murders within the University population alone would give anyone a fright!

Leave a Reply

