Honey Blueberry Cupcakes!!

Brooklyn Locavore

The two biggest food items I took away from Maine were blueberries and honey. One of the winemakers we visited noted, “We’re in Maine, so there’s practically a law that blueberries need to be in everything.” Both were everywhere. I was very disappointed to learn when we got there that Maine’s blueberry season starts in August, meaning no fresh blueberries or blueberry picking for me. But I still tried to indulge when I could–blueberry jam, blueberry ice cream, even blueberry butter at the Lucerne Inn! I did pick up some blueberry honey at the Blue Hill Food Co-op, but stayed away from the blueberry syrup (I’ll stick with good old maple syrup, thank you).

So, when I got back to Brooklyn, I still had blueberries on the brain. Plus, I recently read Romancing the Bees blog post about honey cupcakes. I was inspired. Honey’s tasty and blueberries are pretty…

View original post 239 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. […] An Ode to Maine (romancingthebee.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterPinterestTumblrLinkedInEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in Preserving, Recipes | Tagged Berry, Brooklyn, canning, Farmers' market, food, greenmarkets, GrowNYC, local farms, Local Food, locavore, park slope food coop, Pectin, Raspberry, recipe, union square greenmarket, vegetarian […]

  2. […] An Ode to Maine (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

