British Week – Honey Raspberry Trifle

What is more British (and delicious!) than a beautiful raspberry trifle with honey and sherry? Perfect to go with a proper cup of tea!Β 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup dry sherry
  • 1 cup seedless raspberry jam
  • 4 cups raspberries
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 pounds favorite pound cake

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan, heat 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup water, 1 cup sherry, and lemon juice, stirring to dissolve honey, 1 to 2 minutes. Let cool.
  2. In a small bowl, combine jam with 3 cups raspberries, mashing slightly. In a large bowl, whip cream and 2 tablespoons sugar to stiff peaks.
  3. Slice pound cake 3/4 inch thick; brush both sides of slices with lemon/sherry syrup.
  4. Fit 1/3 of slices snugly in the bottom of a 4-quart trifle dish or other glass bowl, trimming edges if necessary. Gently spread top of layer with 1/3 of raspberry mixture, and then 1/3 of whipped cream. Repeat to make two more layers; garnish with remaining cup raspberries. Refrigerate until ready to serve, up to 24 hours.

25 thoughts on “British Week – Honey Raspberry Trifle

  1. cellynseah says:

    Reblogged this on cellynseah and commented:
    ohhhh…. i want it now!

  2. bigsmileu1 says:

    The Honey Raspberry Trifle looks amazingly good, almost too pretty to eat. But, if I had it in front of me, I would absolutely eat it. This is dangerous stuff. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  3. flyfishbrat says:

    This looks so lovely

  4. Looks so delicious we can just lick the computer screen. Thanks for sharing, we have to try!

  5. Simple Farming says:

    This was my late mother-in-law’s signature dish. No family dinner was complete without a trifle.

  6. katiepede says:

    Salivating…. yum, yum, yum

  7. The Dutch have a tremendous weakness for all things high tea. Sherry trifle is definitely amongst these things. I suspect the addition of honey only makes it more toothsome!

  8. Mmmm, where’s my grocery list . . . raspberry jam! I just love using honey instead of sugar for desserts. And this dish is so wonderfully summery.

    • It is kind of summery, isn’t it? Perfect for a Shower or a Ladies’ Lunch. πŸ™‚
      By the way, thank you for all your kind words about me!! I wish I were that marvelous!! xo Deb

  9. solarbeez says:

    You certainly are a very busy person…you make your Honey Raspberry Trifle…that takes time, photograph it, that takes more time, and then you get into a huge project of extracting your honey combs and cleaning up. How long is your day? I’ve done some photography work so I know that setting up a shot like your dessert takes some time. I haven’t extracted honey, but I’ve read about it. Are you good at working 16 hour days? Oh, and you still have time to blog… πŸ™‚

  10. oceannah says:

    gorgeous! It reminds me of a New Years party 30 odd years ago that my parents threw. Their friends from ‘across the pond’ brought a trifle and it stole the show.
    *anna

  11. mountainmae says:

    Ok you have given me a good reason to get that trifle bowl I’ve been looking at. A celebration to look at but of course I would eat some and share the rest.

Leave a Reply

