Should Beekeeping Be An Olympic Sport?

I’ll admit it.

I’m glued to my tv watching the Summer Olympics in London. Apparently, I’ll watch just about any event.

Which gave me an idea.

Beekeeping has all the makings of an Olympic sport!  Kind of a Pentathlon of beekeeping activities!!

The events could be:

1. Wearing a full bee suit and wellies in 100° weather the longest without passing out.

2. Lifting and  carrying a full deep the farthest.

3. Lighting a smoker and keeping it lit the longest.

4. Dealing with a bee in one’s suit without flailing and screaming like a maniac.

5. Being the first to spot the Queen among  80,000 or so other bees.

Hey, I think it would be a lot more fun to watch than synchronized swimming!!  But then I’m biased…

19 thoughts on “Should Beekeeping Be An Olympic Sport?

  1. Emily Heath says:

    Hope you enjoyed the opening ceremony! Did you spot the beekeeper at the beginning countryside scene?
    Love your Olympics idea. There could also be a medal for the fastest attempt at getting thirty bees in a matchbox (the number of bees needed for a disease sample and one of the potential questions in the Basic Assessment exam over here).

    • I did see him or her! That’s kind of where I got the idea of Olympic Beekeeping… 🙂
      That is a good event! Someone else suggested swarm catching. It might have to be a decathlon!! 🙂

  2. mountainmae says:

    My blog today is about the opening show. I happened to love it although hard to follow at times. What did you think of it? The opinions of some of my friends range from appalling to terrible.

  3. PJ Girl says:

    I’d give you a Gold!

  4. Petition,Petition,Petition till they listen I think it would be fun to watch but my guess is regular non bee loving judges would be scared lol

  5. That bee suit looks like a fashion designer inspiration in the making. Strange, but true.

  6. jmgoyder says:

    I think you have something here!!

  7. Very funny, bee’s already a highlight I see, Jame’s Bond bringing in the Queen Bee by helicopter, as likely as beekeeping being an Olympic event. 🙂

  8. I do still like the synchronized swimming, though–especially when Martin Short does it.

  9. […] in the visual beauty of the blog’s design. While this blog includes humor (see, for example, Should Beekeeping Be an Olympic Sport?), most of the posts are informational. Some provide information about beekeeping (e.g., types of […]

Leave a Reply

