Furnace Mountain Revisited

I just returned from spending four perfect days at Furnace Mountain Zen Retreat Center in Clay City, Kentucky.  It was marvelously restorative and much needed.

The Dog Days of August had taken their toll on me.  My garden is brown and dry in spots, and the hot weather didn’t break until this weekend. It was hard for me to remember the energy and enthusiasm that carried me through most of the Spring and Summer.

It only took four days for it all to come back to me!  It was easy to drop into deep meditation and forget the petty annoyances of everyday life.  It is my little miracle.

I hope you enjoy this virtual visit to Furnace Mountain, and that some of its magic reaches you!

The Mountain

Zen Stone Arch

The Tea House

Skittles

Sam’s House

On The Path To The Temple

The Temple

The Lotus Pond

View From The Temple

Bane Weeding

9 thoughts on “Furnace Mountain Revisited

  1. E A M Harris says:

    Lovely pictures. It looks a great place. I liked the dog – I think animals have a different ‘meditative’ understanding from us; I sometimes wonder what their spiritual lives are like.

  2. A slice of heaven Kentucky. I must find a wonderful place like this to visit for respite once I retire

  3. calmyourbeans says:

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

  4. Wow! Just seeing what this place looks like is a little restorative. It reminds me of Vancouver Island where I grew up in its natural, understated beauty. How fantastic to be able to get away and reconnect with yourself like that. (I have missed your postings.)

  5. mossandivy says:

    What a wonderful gift to get to go there!

Leave a Reply

