Bringing The Garden Indoors

My garden is officially dormant for the winter. It’s a sad day on Columbia Parkway.

Oh, I have some bulbs to plant and some mulching to do. The usual fall tasks. But the really fun part outdoors is over for the year…

I cheer myself up every November by planting giant amaryllis bulbs indoors. This year I found a great deal online for a dozen Amaryllis Apple Blossom bulbs. I spent the day finding suitable vessels to hold them.

They are so easy to grow! I just stick them in water and leave them alone. In 6 to 8 weeks I’ll have a little garden indoors. I’ll be sure to post pictures.

After the amaryllis blossoms are gone, I’ll start Sweet Pea seeds under lights. With luck I’ll have fragrant blooms by February.

And spring will be right around the corner!

5 thoughts on “Bringing The Garden Indoors

  1. Awwww, so sympathizing with you as I bed my garden down. Autumn crocuses are still making an effort out there, but really, it is time to give it up. I have brought a few things in to overwinter and will do a couple of indoor bulbs as well . . . .this post kind of tugged my gardeney heartstrings 😦

  2. I look forward to seeing your Amaryllis bounty, in full bloom…thank you so much for including my post about planting Narcissus indoors!

  3. Great planning! I just planted a few outdoor bulbs, but love the idea of the indoor Amaryllis.

Leave a Reply

