Best Thanksgiving Leftovers – Turkey Tetrazzini

“Cooking Tip: Wrap turkey leftovers in aluminum foil and throw them out.” – Nicole Hollander

Ms. Hollander has obviously never tasted my Turkey Tetrazzini.  🙂

 Ingredients:

16 ounces mushrooms, sliced thin (about 4 cups)

5 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 cup flour (I like to use Wondra…)

1 cup heavy cream

2 cups chicken broth

1/4 cup dry white wine

1 tablespoon honey

16 ounces spaghetti (I use DeCecco)

3 cups coarsely chopped cooked turkey, including cooked giblets if desired

1 cup frozen English peas

2/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan

1/3 cup fine fresh bread crumbs

Directions:

In a large heavy saucepan cook the mushrooms in 1/4 cup of the butter over moderate heat, stirring, until most of the liquid they give off has evaporated, stir in the flour, and cook the mixture over low heat, stirring, for 3 minutes. Add in a stream the milk, the broth, and the wine, stirring, bring the mixture to a boil, stirring, and simmer the sauce for 5 minutes. In a pot of boiling salted water cook the spaghetti until it is al dente and drain it well.

In a large bowl combine well the spaghetti, the mushroom sauce, the turkey, the peas, the honey, and salt and pepper to taste, stir in 1/3 cup of the Parmesan, and transfer the mixture to a buttered shallow 3-quart casserole. In a small bowl combine well the remaining 1/3 cup Parmesan, the bread crumbs, and salt and pepper to taste, sprinkle the mixture evenly over the Tetrazzini, and dot the top with the remaining 1 tablespoon butter, cut into bits. The Tetrazzini may be prepared up to this point 1 month in advance and kept frozen, covered. Bake the Tetrazzini in the middle of a preheated 375°F. oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until it is bubbling and the top is golden.

8 thoughts on “Best Thanksgiving Leftovers – Turkey Tetrazzini

  1. I have heard of this but never have tasted even a bite. We do Thanksgiving meal so much here Turkey is good for you 🙂 so the last bits I have after a few regular meals I mix with gravy and pour over either mashed potatoes or wide egg noodles lol I must ty yours when we get home and I make my Turkey dinner.

    • This is so good that I cook turkey breast especially to make Tetrazzini. I know you will love it!!

      xo Deb

      • I will be making it as Ron only does the whole meal 2 x’s I love turkey and chicken I am going away in March and can only eat fruit and veggies so I will have to get my protein in and build up my muscles 🙂
        xo
        Eunice

        Did I tell you she LOVED THE COOK BOOK!

        She cooks all the time with her bees Honey Who Knew 🙂

        Eunice

  2. Karen says:

    I agree…your tetrazzini sounds delicious and would buy turkey just to make it.

  3. This is my absolute favorite thing to make after Thanksgiving! So good!

  4. […] Turkey Tetrazzini (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

