Holidays With Honey – Gingerbread Men

Gingy

“Run! run! as fast as you can!
You can’t catch me, I’m the Gingerbread Man!”

Who doesn’t love Gingerbread Men? Especially when they’re made with honey rather than molasses. Have some fun and make these tasty cookies. They’re great for gifts and decorations too!

This recipe makes a light brown Gingerbread Man, like the one above.

Yield:   26 Servings

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar

1/3 cup honey

1 egg

2 tablespoons water

2-2/3 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon each ground cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice

Directions

In a large bowl, cream butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the honey, egg and water. Combine the flour, ginger, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice; add to creamed mixture and mix well. Divide dough in half. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or until easy to handle.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out each portion of dough to 1/8-in. thickness. Cut with a floured 4-in. cookie cutter. If you don’t have a cookie cutter, you can make your own templates from paper or cardboard. (I think that’s more fun!)

Place 2 in. apart on greased baking sheets. Re-roll scraps.

Bake at 350° for 8-10 minutes or until edges are firm. Remove to wire racks to cool completely. Decorate as desired with icing recipe which follows.

Decorating Buttercream (for piping details)

This makes a LOT of icing. You may want to cut the recipe in half.

Cream until smooth:

6 oz  (1 1/2  sticks) butter (room temperature)

1 lb (4 cups) powdered sugar

¼ tsp kosher salt

1 tsp pure vanilla

Add:

1 tbsp evaporated milk (you may need more)

Beat briefly until light and smooth. Color as desired.

After piping on cookies, this icing should set 6-8 hours or overnight. This icing does not dry hard but will “crust” so cookies can be handled.

19 thoughts on “Holidays With Honey – Gingerbread Men

  1. Thank you for a gingerbread recipe that doesn’t have molasses. I can’t smell molasses without getting ill. Now, I can finally make gingerbread from scratch. Have a merry, merry Christmas.

  2. I enjoy your blog on a regular basis and I hope you continue! Here’s my way of saying a great big thank you for what you’ve created! I have nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award and the Beautiful Blogger Award. http://wp.me/P1ImlN-hF

  3. Molasses is not really known around here and people generally use honey to make gingerbread – thank youfor sharing, I’m sure the end result is delicious!!

  4. sounds like a recipe I need to taste!!

  5. […] Holidays With Honey – Gingerbread Men (romancingthebee.com) […]

  6. Charlotte says:

    Hi, I just wanted to say thank you. This is the best gingerbread I have ever eaten and it looks great too. Delicious.

  7. […] Holidays With Honey – Gingerbread Men (romancingthebee.com) […]

  8. Reblogged this on Romancing the Bee and commented:

    The best gingerbread is made with honey, not molasses!

  9. I will try these, thank you. I don’t molasses, but am excited to try them with honey, and appreciate that these make a few dozen (as opposed to my recipe that makes about 8 dozen, phew).

  10. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  11. Thanks for this recipe! I love gingerbread but don’t make it because the smell of molasses makes me sick. I am making these tonight!

Leave a Reply

