A poem to mark the winter solstice

A Lovely post by my friend Emily Heath…

Adventuresinbeeland's Blog

Today’s winter solstice, the shortest day of the year, has become important to me since I started beekeeping. Although today is the darkest day, I know that every day that follows will become that little bit longer and brighter, and bring me closer to being able to spend time with the bees again.

To celebrate the solstice, here is a poem from Sean Borodale’s brilliant ‘Bee Journal‘, published this year.

21ST DECEMBER: SOLSTICE FOR BEES

The sun leans at its annual alignment:
bare day and short,
the sky bleached and chattering with a slight adjustment.

Light’s skeleton puts back its fingers and flicks
the spectral end constant,
and bees just switch the wires of their song opposite;
winding the same sound the other way up.

Like hanks of yarn, this endurance of eavesdrop
grows wound and looped, and invariably it twists
between the wings and the ear.

May…

View original post 252 more words

11 thoughts on “A poem to mark the winter solstice

  1. Emily Heath says:

    Thanks lovely Deborah 🙂

  2. lolasanrosel says:

    The photos and the words, both a treat.

  3. lolasanrose says:

    The lovely winter bee hives, the true words, a Christmas gift. Wishing all a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Celebrations of your own special beliefs.

  4. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I am enjoying wandering through your world here
    I will be back …..
    and I did enjoy your reblog…beautiful words and photos
    I am almost ready for my bees, I can’t wait…
    your post has made me want them sooner…
    I hope you a have a very Merry Christmas …
    Take Care….
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I hope you have a Merry Christmas too!!
      I’m going to start a blog series in January about beginning beekeeping. It’s time to start planning for your bees!!

      xo Deb

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        you are very welcome…
        I look forward to your blog series…
        I have been working on my area for my chickens
        and as I was planting ( I create natural habitats and faerie gardens) I was watching bees go from flower to flower, they were bright colors of the yellow and oranges of pollen, my grandkids had so much fun watching them…I knew I had to have bee hives….or at least one…I am glad I wandered in today…
        Thank you again…!
        Take Care…
        )0(

      • I want chickens so badly, but my neighbors, who are very tolerant of my bees, would probably call the cops on me! I live in the heart of the city.
        You are very observant to notice that bees are attracted to yellow and orange flowers!

        xo, Deb

  5. I would love advice on how to create a faerie garden!!

Leave a Reply

