Full Cold Moon

December full cold moon

December’s Full Moon is called the Full Cold Moon. It is the month when the winter cold fastens its grip and the nights become long and dark.

This full Moon is also called the Long Nights Moon by some Native American tribes.

Your calendar probably says tomorrow (Friday, December 28) is the date for the last full moon of 2012. But, for North America, the full moon comes before sunrise tomorrow. So, for us, the moon is closer to full tonight than tomorrow night. Need the exact time of full moon? It’s Friday, December 28 at 10:21 UTC (5:21 a.m. EST, 4:21 a.m. CST, 3:21 a.m. MST and 2:21 a.m. PST). Seeing a bright object in the moon’s vicinity? It’s Jupiter.

This Full Moon will inspire us all with dreams for the coming year!

7 thoughts on “Full Cold Moon

  1. Joe Owens says:

    I love full moons. The one this time of year I will never spend much time viewing due to the temperature. I wished it had been full when I was on a mission trip to Belize the week of December 8th because where we were was away from city lights and one could not even hope to estimate the number of stars that were visible.

    • I love full moons too, and try to never miss one. Each is special to me!!
      It’s been a while since I’ve been far enough away from the light pollution of the city to see the Milky Way. I will plan to do that in 2013!!
      Thanks for your lovely comment!!

  2. Ogee says:

    It was spectacular tonight! Even with the city lights.

  3. Mary Frances says:

    I am in upstate New York and woke up last night at 4:30 am to a bright bright sky! Before I looked at my watch, I thought it was at least 7:30 am!! What a bright, bright full moon! Pity I didn’t look around for Jupiter.

    Happy New Year everyone!!

  4. […] Full Cold Moon (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s