Honey Coca Cola Cake

coca cola cake

Coke is one of my guilty pleasures.  Kicking the “Real Coke” habit is one of my greatest victories.

I’m now a Coke Zero fiend, thanks to my skinny, yoga-toned daughter Molly. Thank you, Dear!!

But this cake is a different story. It was introduced to me by my beloved mother L.J.  My Oldest Friend Mary Ann and I actually laughed when she told us about it. That was until we tasted it….

It’s one of the best we’ve ever tasted.  And even better with honey…

Ingredients

1 cup Coca-Cola

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup honey

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups miniature marshmallows

Coca-Cola Frosting (recipe follows)

Garnish: 3/4 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Directions

Combine Coca-Cola and buttermilk; set aside.

Beat butter at low speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Gradually add sugar and honey; beat until blended. Add egg and vanilla; beat at low speed until blended.

Combine flour, cocoa, and soda. Add to butter mixture alternately with cola mixture; begin and end with flour mixture. Beat at low speed just until blended.

Stir in marshmallows. Pour batter into a greased and floured 13- x 9-inch pan. Bake at 350° for 30 to 35 minutes. Remove from oven; cool 10 minutes. Spread Coca-Cola Frosting over warm cake; garnish, if desired.

Coca Cola Frosting

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/3 cup Coca-Cola

3 tablespoons cocoa

1 (16-ounce) package powdered sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

Bring first 3 ingredients to a boil in a large saucepan over medium heat, stirring until butter melts. Remove from heat; Beat in sugar and vanilla until consistency of firm frosting.

4 thoughts on “Honey Coca Cola Cake

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Oh my! This is absolutely scrumptious!!

  2. petit4chocolatier says:

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page? I love this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

