New Year’s Eve – Honey Tiramisu

I made this recipe for Christmas Eve, and it was so good I’m making again tomorrow night! 

Although it contains no cream (other than in the Marscapone), it is delightfully luscious and rich.

Tiramisu was originally made with honey, and I think it makes all the difference. Of course, I would think that…

Grumps aka Vince, a real Italian, says he prefers it a bit less sweet. If you are an Italian traditionalist, reduce the amount of honey to 1/3 cup. Don’t do anything different though! The end result will be heavenly!!

Yield:  8-10 servings

Ingredients

Eggs, 3 large, with yolks and whites separated
Honey, 1/2 cup
Mascarpone, 8 ounces
Ladyfingers, 20
Espresso or Strong Coffee, 1 cup (I used Italian roast coffee)
Cognac or Brandy, 2 tablespoons (I used inexpensive brandy)
Cocoa, 1/8 cup (I used Hershey’s unsweetened dark chocolate)

Directions

Combine 3 egg yolks, 1 tablespoon Espresso, Honey, and Cognac into the large mixing bowl. Beat 2 to 3 minutes.

Add Mascarpone and beat 3 to 5 minutes until consistency is smooth.

In another bowl, combine 3 egg whites and a pinch of sugar. Beat until mixture forms stiff peaks. Gently fold into Mascarpone mixture.

Pour rest of Espresso into flat dish, dip one side of each Lady Finger, and layer on bottom of serving dish. Spread 1/3 of Mascarpone mixture and sprinkle with cocoa.

Continue layering and finish with a Mascarpone layer. Sprinkle and refrigerate 1 hour before serving

11 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve – Honey Tiramisu

  1. Rachel says:

    This is the final straw. Just bought your book – there are way too many scrummy recipies to try! Happy New Year and thanks for all the cooking inspiration 🙂

  2. Mmh this looks yummy! Fora long time I didn’t even try tiramisu because of the coffee. And then it was inevitable in Italy… Happy New Year Deborah!

  3. Mmm, this blows all my healthy New Year Resolutions away, but I wasn’t going to keep them anyway! 😉 Happy New Year, Deborah. May 2013 bring all that you wish! x

  4. Looks divine! Can’t wait to make! Happy New Year and thanks for all the lovely info. and recipes in 2012! All the beest to you…(intentional double e) (:

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    Tiramisu is one of my favorites and I have never dared to prepare it. This sort of takes the cake!! You make it sound so easy that I am inspired. Your tiramisu looks amazing! I also am going to check out your book 🙂

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
      And tiramisu is so easy, it’s hard to believe it tastes so good!!
      The hardest thing about it is whipping egg whites, which I’m sure you have down pat. 🙂
      xo Deb

  6. I love tiramisu! I’ve never made it with honey, I may have to give this a try 🙂

  7. Reblogged this on The Garden Diaries and commented:
    I love Tiramisu and think honey will make this perfect!

  8. Mama Bear says:

    Wow! This looks SO good! Thanks for posting this recipe. Now, if I can just find the mascarpone in my area, I’m in!

Leave a Reply

