The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken

Fat bee

People used to ask me how I kept from gaining weight with all the rich cooking I do.  I haven’t heard that question since Thanksgiving.

I have been asked about my weight though. My daughter politely inquired how I managed to gain so much in a mere 30 days. My mouth was full of Tiramisu at the time. I think she was being ironic…

Yes, Gentle Reader, it’s true. This little bee has grown plump.  There will be no more Romancing for me  if I don’t lose a few.

For the record, honey had nothing to do with my weight gain.

On the contrary, it was butter, cheese, cream, bread, pasta and refined sugar.  (Yes, I’m human…)  I can’t remember the last time I passed up a glass of wine. My recent exercise has consisted primarily of typing. Oh, and of course, cooking.

I’m not giving up the goodies forever, mind you!  I believe in everything in moderation. I just have to get rid of my newly acquired avoirdupois before it gets too comfortable around my midsection and doesn’t want to leave.

Diets are never fun, but I thought it might at least be interesting if I made up my own.  One that includes honey of course!

In a nutshell, I’m going to give up the aforementioned dairy, grains and refined sugar until I lose the weight. I’m also going to walk more and maybe take a yoga class once a week.  I’ll keep you apprised of my progress.

I’ll also provide the details of my diet, which I’m still making up!  Until then, here’s a recipe for a starter!

Honey, Garlic and Rosemary Chicken

Ingredients:

(Serves 2)

• 2 skinless Chicken Breasts or other boneless chicken

• 1/8 cup  Olive Oil.

• 3/4 teaspoon honey

• 1 teaspoon dried Rosemary.

• 3/4 tsp Balsamic Vinegar.

• 1/2 tsp crushed Black Pepper.

• 1 pinch of Kosher Salt.

•  1-2 cloves of Garlic, minced.

Directions

Pound chicken in wax paper with a mallet until 1/4 inch thick.  Mix rest of ingredients and brush on chicken before and during cooking.  Place in grill pan or hot skillet and cook to desired doneness.  Serve with steamed brussels sprouts or broccoli.

22 thoughts on “The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken

  1. Katie says:

    It is amazing how much and how quickly pants become tight. My dryer must be broken and is shrinking everything. That chicken looks great! Thanks for the recipe. 8)

  2. I’m pretty sure that if we were able to just replace all of the high-fructose corn syrup we consume with honey we would all be way more svelte and healthy!
    Good luck with those dietary resolutions. It is hard to type and cook all day without putting on a bit!

  3. Ogee says:

    Come walk some dogs with us…the calories fly off! Seriously, if you really can give up all of those things, you’ll be done in a jiffy! Good luck!

  4. Thank you for the link to my blog.

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    The chicken sounds incredible. Great diet food 🙂

  6. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  7. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  8. Looks like a delicious recipe! I don’t own scales, so I have no idea if/how much weight I’ve put on over Christmas, but surely that’s the best time to do it? I always end up craving healthy food after a big holiday 🙂

  9. This idea certainly makes sense to me also. However, I was looking at it from the good/lower carb idea rather than GI but similar in result. Try not too totally deprive, be creative cooking and walking and yoga. Perfect time of year. Great blog by the way.

    • Good suggestions! I was trying to incorporate the good parts of the many diet regimens I’ve been on. I’m especially sensitive to refined sugar, but not to honey, so the GI approach is a good one for me.
      Also I’m short and small boned, so this is plenty of food for me. It might not be enough for a taller person.
      I am coming up with some good recipes which I’ll post soon!!
      I’m so glad you like my blog!!

      xo Deb

  10. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  11. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  12. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  13. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  14. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  15. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken (romancingthebee.com) […]

  16. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Honey, Garlic And Rosemary Chicken […]

Leave a Reply

