The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials

Fat bee

Okay, here is the diet I made up.  I’m no expert, but I’ve been on just about every diet there is with varying levels of success. I know what works for me and what doesn’t.

All of the foods allowed on the Romancing The Bee Diet (“RTBD”) are low (below 55) on the Glycemic Index (GI).

The GI is a numerical system of measuring how much of a rise in circulating blood sugar a carbohydrate triggers–the higher the number, the greater the blood sugar response. So a low GI food will cause a small rise, while a high GI food will trigger a dramatic spike. A GI of 70 or more is high, a GI of 56 to 69 inclusive is medium, and a GI of 55 or less is low.

For me, a food with a low GI keeps me satisfied longer and naturally suppresses my appetite. The variety of foods allowed enables me to still cook creatively!

Foods allowed on the RTBD are listed below. If it’s not on the list, I’m not going to eat it!!

Lean meats such as beef, skinless chicken, lamb, pork loin and veal – 8 ounces per day, OR

Any type of seafood without breading or batter – 8 ounces per day, OR

Three eggs per day (3 ounces), OR

Any combination of the above, not to exceed a total of 8 ounces of protein per day.

One grapefruit per day

One lemon per day

Apples or pears – two per day, total.

Non-starchy vegetables such as spinach, asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, mushrooms, cabbage, salad greens, winter greens, onions, and garlic. (unlimited)

1 avocado per day

2 tablespoons raw honey

2 tablespoons olive oil or butter (not light) or mayonnaise made with olive oil (not light), or a combination of these, not to exceed two tablespoons total.

2 tablespoons bleu cheese or parmesan cheese

Unlimited – Tea, diet soda, water, Vinegar, Tabasco, salt, pepper, fresh and dried spices and Dijon Mustard.

1 five ounce glass of wine per day, preferably red. (May be used in cooking)

EATING BREAKFAST IS ABSOLUTELY REQUIRED!

That’s it.  No counting of calories or carbs or points.  I’m hopeful that the small amounts of “naughty” foods will keep me from feeling deprived, while still allowing me to lose 2-3 pounds per week.

27 thoughts on “The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials

  1. snati001 says:

    Nice foods in this list. Looks like a yummy diet.

  2. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  3. Looks like a pretty healthy way to eat, and I like the inclusion of “treat” foods!

  4. Sounds delicious! I wish you the best of Lu k with your new nutrition plan.

  5. Granny says:

    Greetings from Vermont! I just arrived here thanks to Old world Garden Farms. Love your Romancing the Bee approach and I must swing by your cooking with honey segment. Looking forward to further exploration. Glad to have found you. Have a great New year!

    • I’m glad to have you aboard!! I absolutely LOVE Vermont, especially the mountains.
      You’ll notice that while my blog is mainly devoted to beekeeping, gardening and cooking with honey, I do digress from time to time. I love great poetry and I love to share my favorites. I love animals and insects of all varieties, and I’ve been known to wax rhapsodic on the likes of hedgehogs, dormice and bats. I’m a dyed in the wool Anglophile, and will most likely cross the pond again this year. I also love to share my adventures.
      Thanks for visiting!!

      xo Deb

      P.S. I’ll soon return to posting the most extravagant of honey recipes. Bear with me while I trim down a bit. But try some of the diet recipes too — everything tastes better with honey!!

      • Granny says:

        I had a hunch I was in good company. Wax rhapsodic on all animals myself, with special affinity with reptiles and ravens. Hoping to cross the pond also this year… to Scotland (Blair Atholl). Land where I was married and it is in my heart 24 hours a day. i miss it dearly. Do you have family in Great Britain then?

        PS: if you happen to visit our Blog, you might see my recent post inviting fellow bloggers to submit a recipe. Consider yourself invited! Glad I stopped here tonight!

      • I love when this happens!! The Raven is very special to me. 🙂
        I don’t have relatives in the UK anymore (although we have a crumbling family castle in Eire…), but I have many dear friends whom I’m anxious to visit.
        I’m excited to submit a recipe!! With honey, of course!!

        xo Deb

  6. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  7. Ohh…love this diet…can’t wait to learn more!

  8. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  9. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  10. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  11. It’s an excellent diet and I’m giving it a go but can’t do any chese. 😦 I so miss cheese. Subsitutes just don’t do it. Health is this years focus.

    • Ideally, the diet wouldn’t include any cheese. You will note that only a token amount is allowed, really more as a seasoning than an ingredient. I don’t plan to post any recipes where cheese is included, so you shouldn’t have a problem!!

  12. eliminating cheese and carbs (and in my case chocolate), while keeping honey 😉 is sure to work… I’m inspired to try!

  13. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  14. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

  15. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – The Essentials (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

