The Romancing The Bee Diet – Day 7 – Chocolate Lava Cake

molten-lava-cake-853x1024

It’s been a week and I’ve lost 2.6 pounds.  I’m right on track, and still feel great.

So I’m going to make a diet treat today. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Ingredients:

4 oz Semi-Sweet or Bittersweet chocolate

½ tsp Vanilla Extract

1/8 tsp Salt

2 Tbsp Honey

1 tsp Coconut Flour

2 tsp Cocoa Powder

2 eggs

4 Tbsp extra virgin or refined coconut oil (plus a little more for greasing the ramekins)

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease four 6oz ramekins with coconut oil. If you wish to serve these cakes on a plate, you will need to flour as well (use coconut flour, blanched almond flour, or cocoa powder).

In a 4 cup measuring cup or medium microwave-safe bowl, melt chocolate and coconut oil in the microwave on low power. Stir until smooth and let cool.

In a small bowl, beat eggs, vanilla, salt and honey with a hand or stand mixer until light and frothy, about five minutes.

Pour egg mixture over chocolate. Sift cocoa and coconut flour over the top. Then gently fold all the ingredients together.

Pour batter into prepared ramekins (they should be filled to within ½” of the top). Place the ramekins on a baking sheet and place in the oven (you can chill the ramekins for a few hours if you want to make them ahead of time, just make sure you bring them back to room temperature before baking). Bake for 11-12 minutes.

Remove from oven and serve immediately. Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “The Romancing The Bee Diet – Day 7 – Chocolate Lava Cake

  1. Emily Heath says:

    This is my kind of diet cake!

  2. Whoooa! You again! I could put on some serious pounds on this diet–you may lose but if I made that, portion size would go right out the window. I LOVE LOVE LOVE molten lava cake. And with honey: so much the better!

  3. flyfishbrat says:

    Love this recipe and I have all ingredients as I type…so I’m thinking this will be dessert for tonight.

    • I’m impressed that you have coconut flour and coconut oil! I had to make a shopping trip…
      I’m going to experiment some more with alternative oils and flours. It’s fun!!

      xo, Deb

      • flyfishbrat says:

        LOL, a childhood friend of mine has a blog on FB which follows the Paleo way of eating. So I create recipes designed just for her and others that follow Paleo. Coconut and almond flour are staples. I have become very fond of coconut flour, oil and milk. I use them in many of my recipes, I just don’t make a not of it, as most people don’t use them.

      • flyfishbrat says:

        By the way, we loved the dessert. Thanks again for sharing.

      • I’m so glad you liked it!!
        You probably noticed that the Romancing the Bee diet is a combination of Paleo/low Glycemic Index eating.
        I don’t have any health issues, other than a slight tendency to plumpness, but in just a week I’ve noticed I feel better after cutting out refined sugar, wheat and dairy. I don’t really miss them.
        I am enjoying playing around with different kinds of flour, despite gagging at the price at my local Kroger’s. I’m sure I will be able to find them cheaper online somewhere…

        xo Deb

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    This is incredible! Congratulations on your loss of weight!

  5. […] The Romancing The Bee Diet – Day 7 – Chocolate Lava Cake (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

