L.J.’s Honey Hot Fudge Sauce

hot_fudge_sauce_646

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ve heard me talk about my mother, L.J.

“L.J”. is short for Lois Jean. I didn’t know what her real name was until I entered grade school.

I adored her.  She was blonde, beautiful, smart, funny, irreverent, and a fantastic cook.

I grew up in Louisville, where cooking is an art form. My mother was legendary. Our friends and relatives still rave about her dinner parties and holiday buffets.

I’ve posted many of her recipes, the most popular ones on my blog. I’ll be posting her Easter Menu in a day or so.

But her Hot Fudge Sauce… She used to tell me it didn’t have any calories. I desperately wanted to believe her. It is so darn good!

I think of her every day and wish she were still around to help me tend my bees, garden and cook.

She lives on through her recipes though. Especially the one for Hot Fudge Sauce.  🙂

Honey Hot Fudge Sauce

Ingredients

1 12 ounce bag of  semisweet chocolate chips . (L.J. used Nestle’s but I like Ghirardelli.)

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup honey

Directions

Place the cream into a microwave glass bowl.  Add the chips and microwave for 2 minutes. (L.J. used a double boiler. Feel free to use one too!)

Remove from microwave and stir.

Add honey and stir.

Refrigerate until cold or reheat for hot fudge sauce.

Serve over ice cream.  Whipped cream may be added, but is superfluous. 🙂

8 thoughts on “L.J.’s Honey Hot Fudge Sauce

  1. Rachel says:

    This will be a great addition for a chocolate fondue evening….. I can almost taste the strawberries with this sauce already!

  2. betsydaley says:

    I remember L.J.! But recall experiencing her excellent cooking. Thank you for posting so many of her classic southern recipes 🙂

  3. You know of course, I have a file folder in my documents with just your recipies. They are all scrumptious. You never, ever, stop missing your mother.

  4. Mac (LJ) Callaway says:

    Oh My God! there’s another one! I thought my mother was the only one cruel enough to name a child Lois Jean. Does your mom hate her name as much as I do? I never use it. Does she get all those Superman’s girlfriend jokes? And, I’m just right up here in Indiana. Neighbors, and . . . Wait a minute. Did my mother know your grandmother? Were they in cahoots with this name thing?
    Anyway, I’m a honey lover, too, and this sauce sounds great. I’m a diabetic who can tolerate honey but not sugar, and this is one I’ve got to try. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

