My New Bees Have Arrived!

My new Buckfast bees have arrived, all the way from Novasota, Texas!

Since about 9:30 this morning, I’ve had 20,000 bees in my kitchen, waiting for the weather to warm up a bit so they can move into their new homes.

001

Don’t worry, my Mean Bees are doing well. If anything, the cold winter weather perked them up. I’ll post some pictures of them later.

No, I’ve decided to add two more hives at the bottom of the garden.

004

After my unsuccessful foray with Italian bees last summer, I’m sticking with Buckfast bees. Some people don’t like them because they have a tendency to be a little, er, mean. (Hence the nickname for my big hive)

Not aggressive, mind you. Just feisty.

Which brings me to one of my many unscientific theories about beekeeping. Feisty bees do better.

This is based purely on my personal experience, which I’ll freely admit is limited. But it does seem to make sense, Darwinism-wise. Survival of the fittest and all.

Did you know Charles Darwin kept bees?Β  He did! I’ll bet he would agree with me.

Anyway, I’ll post more about the installation (later this afternoon. I have to buy the wine first…) and about Buckfast bees. Wish me luck. πŸ™‚

005

33 thoughts on “My New Bees Have Arrived!

  1. Hooray Deborah! So exciting! We are expecting our first nucs for our first hives this May. We still have some frame-building and foundation-laying to do, but we cannot wait to start on this journey! You have been one of our inspirations. Thanks for the great bee posts and good luck with the new ladies.
    -jeanne, http://www.domesticspace.com

    • Congratulations!! Nucs are a great way to start out beekeeping. I know you are really going to love keeping bees. πŸ™‚
      I’m delighted to learn that I inspired you a bit. After all, that was the reason I started this blog in the first place!!
      Much love,
      Deb

  2. They’re so cute! Looking forward to hearing how the move-in goes!

  3. jmgoyder says:

    You and your bees fascinate me!

  4. andy1076 says:

    Oof, personally I wouldn’t be brave enough for these guys but hey congrats on their arrival πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, those bees look lovely!!! After losing all our Italians, we are awaiting four boxes of Russians either this weekend or next.~~Kathy

  6. […] My New Bees Have Arrived!. […]

  7. RtB: a wonderful post, and i’ve reposted…thanks for sharing! RT

  8. Rachel says:

    Good luck! I’m trying to imagine my mothers’ reaction if ever had bees in my kitchen… πŸ˜€

  9. Ogee says:

    I would love to see the look on the delivery man’s face!

    • They arrived by UPS, and it wasn’t my regular UPS guy. That was a good thing, seeing as my regular guy is afraid of The Noble Bayard, who has never bitten anything but his own derriere!
      I was waiting for the UPS truck and ran out to meet the Driver. He wasn’t a scaredy pants, but nonetheless seemed grateful that I didn’t make him carry 20,000 bees to my door.
      There are always a few “hitchhiker” bees clinging to the outside of the cage, which spooks some people. FYI, I think they are flying around my house now… πŸ™‚

  10. I am getting my bees next week and can’t wait. Mine died over the winter and am ready to start wih some newbies. Let me know how the Buckfast work out.

    • I swear by Buckies. They are bred chemical-free and are healthy as little horses. I’ve only bought two packages since 2006.
      Good luck on your new ones. What are you getting?

      • Italian. My choice from the local beekeeper association (they bring them up from Georgia) is Italian or Russian. I have always beeen intrigued though by the Buckfast. I might order some.

  11. […] My New Bees Have Arrived! (romancingthebee.com) […]

  12. That is an impressive sight! At first glance, the bees look huge. Are they loud, contained in the house?

  13. […] My New Bees Have Arrived! (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

