My Bees Are In Their New Homes!

The New Hives

The New Hives

Well, for the most part. At least they’re around their new homes…

Even though my new bees arrived yesterday, I decided to wait until today to hive them because it got down to 28 degrees Farenheit last night.  The rest of this week (and with luck, the rest of this season!) is supposed to be above freezing.

I had plenty to do yesterday though, what with setting up the hives, gathering up all my equipment and putting the bees’ sugar syrup into quart glass jars with lids. That’s something new I came up with this year to make the syrup easier to handle.

One of the most important rules of beekeeping is to never leave sugar syrup out in the open around a hive, even for a minute. Sugar syrup attracts robbing insects of all kinds. I learned that the hard way. (Come to think of it, I’ve learned most everything about beekeeping the hard way…)

This year I loaded up a recyclable grocery bag with 4 quart jars of sugar syrup – easy to handle and hermetically sealed!

It was fun having the bees in my kitchen last night. They really do go to sleep. I made sure to turn off all the kitchen lights so they could have a good rest before Moving Day!

Today was perfect for installing a package. Temperature in the 50’s, no wind and partly cloudy. I’m more comfortable around my bees when I’m wearing a full bee suit, so the cooler the day, the better for me. Those bee suits are hot!

The bees still in the box will eventually make it into the hives by themselves.

The bees still in the box will eventually make it into the hives by themselves.

I would love to tell you that I was the picture of beekeeping professionalism. Not so much.

At least I didn’t hop around like I had St. Vitus’ Dance like I did the first time I installed a package. Oh, for a video of that performance!

But there are things I don’t remember until I start the installation process. Like how hard it is to get the frigging bee package open. And pry out the feeding can. And find the Queen cage. And jimmy out the cork at the end.

The frigging box should come with a handy hatchet to help open it!

The frigging box should come with a handy hatchet to help open it!

And get the frigging bees out of the box and into the hive. (I did what I usually do – just left the box there and let them move in by themselves. They’ll go anywhere the Queen is residing.)

And not squish too many. (Oh, the humanity!!)

It didn’t help that my back garden is slightly less steep than Mt. Everest and I put the new hives at the bottom.

The view down Mt. Everest...

The view down Mt. Everest…

The Mean Bees live at the top of the garden, and have clearly indicated that they don’t want any next door neighbors, even if they’re relatives.

The Mean Bees at the top of the garden

The Mean Bees at the top of the garden

But, all in all, a good day on Columbia Parkway!!

P.S. No, I didn’t get stung.  I usually don’t when hiving a package. My average is two stings per season, both while I am in the process of doing something stupid. 🙂

15 thoughts on “My Bees Are In Their New Homes!

  1. I love the idea of hundreds of bees tucked in for the evening in your kitchen, prior to moving day. So sweet!

  2. I need to read a book about how a bee hive works. It sounds so cool! You were very brave!

    • There are lots of great bee books out there, but “The Queen Must Die:And Other Affairs of Bees and Men” by Pulitzer Prize winner William Longgood is one of the best!
      I’m not sure how brave I am. I just have “Bee Fever”! 🙂

  3. lolasanrose says:

    This post was extra fun! I love you were happy to have the bees in the house, and they actually do sleep!! Thank you for sharing wonderfully good things.

  4. Emily Heath says:

    Very pretty homes they are too, love the colour.

  5. Karen says:

    I’m sure your bees are happy to be out of the box and into their pretty new homes.

  6. Simon says:

    Looks awesome! Hopefully, they will go to work soon in their new home. Are you worried at all about your wicker stand once your honeyflow gets going and you’re adding supers?

    You are a few days ahead of me as my bees won’t be ready for pickup until Sunday morning. Fortunately, weather will be great in MD then.

    • It’s a gorgeous day and all my bees are flying. Dandelions are blooming and all is right with the world. 🙂
      I’m glad you brought up the subject of my “wicker” bee stand. It’s not really wicker, but rust resistant iron covered with plastic. I posted about that last year, and I probably should re-post. I don’t recommend anyone using real wicker for the very reason you mention!!

      • Simon says:

        You know, I saw a TV ad last night about Ortho weed management and someone out in the yard with their sprayer going after dandelions. Talk about a sickening commercial. I, for one, appreciate a less-than-perfectly-manicured yard, and just because we don’t like something in it and call it a weed, there’s nothing that says it’s unwelcome to others, particularly the pollinators. Besides, nothing but grass is boring. =]
        On that note, I like your English Garden pictures. I grew up in Germany, but my parents have been to England more times than I count years to my age, and my mother has been a bit of an English Gardener herself. This is how we do it in Germany: =]

  7. […] My Bees Are In Their New Homes! (romancingthebee.com) […]

  8. This post made my day! I love the way you make it look easy and fun! Congratulations on your installation!

  9. […] My Bees Are In Their New Homes! (romancingthebee.com) […]

Leave a Reply

