Poetry Month – Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116 – “Let Me Not To The Marriage Of True Minds”

I’m giving you a break from Victorian poetry with my fave Shakespeare Sonnet.

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may because tomorrow it’s back to Wordsworth, Tennyson, Coleridge and the Brownings….

william-shakespeare

Let me not to the marriage of true minds

Admit impediments. Love is not love

Which alters when it alteration finds,

Or bends with the remover to remove:

O no! it is an ever-fixed mark

That looks on tempests and is never shaken;

It is the star to every wandering bark,

Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.

Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks

Within his bending sickle’s compass come:

Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,

But bears it out even to the edge of doom.

If this be error and upon me proved,

I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

5 thoughts on “Poetry Month – Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116 – “Let Me Not To The Marriage Of True Minds”

  1. mieprowan says:

    Reblogged this on There Are So Many Things Wrong With This and commented:
    Die-hard romanticism. Dangerous, but not as dangerous as giving up on it whole-heartedly. In fact, I think one can only give up on it with less than an entire heart.

  2. Emily Heath says:

    This just got added to my list of potential wedding readings for next year, thanks!

  3. vairarenbeth says:

    I had my sister read this at my wedding 11 years ago – still love, love, love it!

Leave a Reply

