“Bees And Beekeepers – A Sweet Life”

Carl White, Executive Producer and Host of the award-winning syndicated TV show Life in the Carolinas, was kind enough to send me the video of his recent show on North Carolina bees and beekeepers.

I really enjoyed it!  Did you know that North Carolina has more beekeepers than any other state? Or that North Carolina beekeepers like to compete to see who can light his or her smoker the fastest?  I was impressed!

Speaking of North Carolina, I’ll be conducting “Cooking with Honey” workshops at the North Carolina State Beekeepers Association Summer Meeting on July 11-13 in Pinehurst, North Carolina. Come by and visit me if you’re in the area!

6 thoughts on ““Bees And Beekeepers – A Sweet Life”

  1. That’s going to be a fun event for you! wish I was closer so I could come!

  2. Emily Heath says:

    Great video! The hive tool throwing and smoker lighting games look really fun. I disagree with one of the comments made at the beginning of the video though – that only the baby bees eat pollen. My bee books say that young worker bees up to 8-10 days old need to eat large amounts of pollen, in order for their glands to develop enough to produce brood food, a yummy mixture of hypopharyngeal and mandibular gland excretions mixed with honey, digestive enzymes and water. The larvae are fed small amounts of pollen in comparison.

  3. MsSopia says:

    I do believe you started a fashion trend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

