Beautiful Beekeeping – I Was Framed!

My Buckfast bees refuse to build on easy-to-use, pre-assembled cheap plastic frames. I can’t say that I blame them.

So I spent the bulk of my weekend hand-crafting wooden frames with wired wax foundation. Thirty-eight of them!

Twenty-eight of the thirty-eight frames I built this weekend

Twenty-eight of the thirty-eight frames I built this weekend

When I bought my first hive almost a decade ago, I had the option of having it assembled or assembling it myself. The difference was $60.00. In an uncharacteristic fit of thriftiness, I chose self-assembly.

About $200 dollars worth of tools and countless woman-hours later, I had built my first bee hive, complete with frames!

I’m still proud of that accomplishment. I also learned a whole lot about the structure and function of every part of the hive.

Which is why I wasn’t daunted by the prospect of assembling thirty-eight frames from what looks like a bag of sticks and some sheets of wax.

Bag of sticks and sheets of wax...

Bag of sticks and sheets of wax…

Two of my three hives are now happy campers. The third hive is another story. They’ve rejected wax in favor of building their own digs.

Combs built from the hive cover

Combs built from the hive cover

The bees are happy even if I'm not...

The bees are happy even if I’m not…

I removed a frame from each hive box and placed comb between the spaces. I hope it works!!

In any event, I’m going to try going foundation-less in my next hive. The bees seem to really like building their own homestead.

I’m going to let my bees be bees!

12 thoughts on “Beautiful Beekeeping – I Was Framed!

  1. I love this insight into the bees’ lives. They’re so cute, and I like how the different hives have their own personalities. Also, impressive weekend of building on your part!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. They are very cute, and I hate to mess with their happy world.
      When I handled the comb, it was like I could feel a heartbeat. Beekeeping is an awesome responsibility!

  2. Since I am not a bee keeper, your third hive looks really strange to me. Are they artist bees?

  3. I love the idea of “letting bees be bees.” I just saw a video on Wimp.com that showed a house in Houston where a huge beehive had completely taken over the walls… it was crazy!

  4. […] Beautiful Beekeeping – I Was Framed! (romancingthebee.com) […]

  5. I wondered how your buckfast were doing. I haven’t been able to get any packages of bees this season and am feeling lonely. I keep looking up my hill to see my hives and they are empty! I have done the frame thing myself and I hated it.

    • My Buckies are doing well, no thanks to me! I hope you get some packages next season.
      I get my bees from B. Weaver in Texas. I’ve had really good luck with them.

  6. […] Beautiful Beekeeping – I Was Framed! (romancingthebee.com) […]

  7. You never cease to amaze me with the things you can get accomplished!

Leave a Reply

