10 thoughts on “It’s A Drag Being A Drone…

  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    My dad used to keep bees and occasionally he would bring me a drone to hold. I was young and I loved it. I often stood behind a tree to watch him work the bees. In one stand of bees on a hard-to-get-to spot on a steep hill, dad was working the bees and one spotted me. I was instantly afraid and swatted at it, knocking it into my hair. I ended up stung and squishing the bee against my head to kill it. I smile every time I think of those times; he’s been dead now for several years but I remembered how he enjoyed the bees.

    • That’s a sweet story (except for the bee sting!). It’s hard not to flail and swat when a bee is after you. That’s usually how I get stung… 🙂

      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

        The day I was stung I was about nine-years-old and adored my dad. I am now 59 and he had not worked bees for many years but the bees were a treasured time in all our lives. 😉

  2. Haha! Too funny. And also informative.

  3. willowbatel says:

    Reblogged this on Batel’s Bee Blog and commented:
    hahaha

  4. Emily Heath says:

    Hilarious. I shall send this to the local Ealing beekeepers!

Leave a Reply

