Cooking With Honey – Blueberry Lavender Martinis

Lavender-Martini-300x225

I was in Chicago this past weekend and had dinner at the delightful French Bistro Aquitaine. We began with two of their lovely specialty cocktails — I had the Blueberry Lavender Martini made with honey. It was fabulous!

Here is my recreation…

Yield:  2 martinis

Ingredients:

6 large ice cubes

8 oz vodka

3 oz fresh lemon juice

4 Tbsp honey lavender syrup*

12 fresh blueberries, muddled

Directions:

In a martini shaker add the ice, vodka, lemon juice, honey lavender syrup, and muddled blueberries and place top on shaker. Shake until well blended. Pour the drink into the glasses through a strainer, and serve!

*Honey Lavender Syrup:

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup honey

2 Tbsp dried lavender

Heat water until boiling, remove from heat and whisk in honey and lavender, until honey is dissolved. Chill well before using in drinks.

12 thoughts on “Cooking With Honey – Blueberry Lavender Martinis

  1. I think I’ve had berry cocktails in almost every form but never blueberries. This looks amazing. How long do you think the syrup will keep in the fridge? It seems to vary so much. My violet syrup kept for months, but I found a rhubarb recipe that said only a week.

    • Honey keeps pretty much forever since it is antiseptic, anti-fungal, and antibiotic. It’s been used as a food preservative for centuries. I think the syrup will keep for a long time… 🙂

  2. Love the look and sound of these.

  3. I will have to try this! I am a Mojito lover- Have you tried a honey mojito with fruit?

  4. Karen says:

    My girlfriend has a similar martini recently…I’ll have to make this for her.

  5. Thank you for linking my post to this! I’m very honored! Great post!

  6. […] so many fantastic food blogs out there and I have been following a few. It happened accidentally. Romancing the Bee is a mixed bag of wonderful information about bee keeping, gardening and amazing recipes using […]

  7. Hello Deborah Delong,
    Thanks for your thoughts, i have random food items laying around in my pantry. im hungry and i have no money hahahah. what can i make with hot dogs, honey, potatoes; frozen organic strawberries, pineapples, raspberries, spinach, grapes and blueberries; kelp powder, garlic, pancake mix, coconut powder, sugar, ketchup, olives, black beans, raisins, parmesan cheese, spaghetti noodles and pickle relish. Oh, i also have like spices and oils to cook with. so any ideas?
    Wishes

  8. OMG. This looks and sounds amazing.

    Soon, I’m planning to launch a collection of recipes meant to help folks “court creepy” (to help transition into that darker, richer, more alive & awake mood that horror, thrillers, mysteries and the like inspire.) I want to concentrate on real food & good nutrition AND indulgence – with a dash of danger. I’d like to include this recipe, and I’d be interested to know if you have any others that fit the courting creepy theme.

    If you’d like to be featured (and linked, of course) send me links of stuff you think might work.

Leave a Reply

