Until We Meet Again

On July 1st my beloved dog The Noble Bayard died suddenly and unexpectedly of heart failure.

015

In retrospect I realize he was nearing his end. He slept a lot and resisted taking walks. But he was always there for me when I wanted to play or garden with him. I truly believe he didn’t want me to know he was sick.

The Noble Bayard

The Noble Bayard

I dreaded posting about this but I thought it best to explain my absence online.

009

This poem by Byron best expresses my sorrow:

Near this spot
Are deposited the Remains
               Of one
Who possessed Beauty
        Without Vanity,
Strength without Insolence,
  Courage without Ferocity,
And all the Virtues of Man
        Without his Vices.

This praise, which would be unmeaning flattery
          If inscribed over Human Ashes,
Is but a just tribute to the Memory of 
          “Boatswain,” a Dog
Who was born at Newfoundland,
          May, 1803,
And died in Newstead Abbey,
          Nov. 18, 1808.

37 thoughts on “Until We Meet Again

  1. I am so sorry for the loss of your sweet beloved friend. Sending love & light to you both. ❤

  2. betsydaley says:

    So very sorry DDL. What a tremendous loss for you. Beautiful words from Byron for your dear departed friend. XO

  3. Camille Stadts says:

    I am so very sorry for your loss. Dogs are the most awesome and loving creatures humans have the great fortune to have as companions and friends. PEACE

    ________________________________

  4. ibgreenie3 says:

    Your beloved dog is waiting on the other side of the veil. Sending you comfort & support blessings of one who has lost & understands your sorrow.

  5. Oh Deborah, I am so sorry to hear about this sad loss. There is nothing in the world like a loving pet. May all your lovely memories of him soothe your pain.

  6. Rick Visser says:

    Just this morning, I spoke with someone whose dog died this week. He said he grieved more for that little dog than he did for his mother and father when they died. I believe this is a common experience and I’m not sure why. Perhaps it’s the part about having “all the Virtues of Man Without his Vices.” But it must be more than that . . . probably more than we can ever know.
    Thinking of you . . . rv

    • Those are very wise and comforting words. I feel like your friend.
      I think it must be the unconditional love of a dog. God-like.
      I remember tripping over Bayard by accident in the middle of the night and ending up with my little toe up one of his nostrils. He just smiled and went back to sleep. 🙂

  7. Joan says:

    So sorry for the loss of your dear friend. It is hard to lose one so dear to us. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  8. Bob Lee says:

    Deborah – I’m so sorry for your loss. He looks like such a good friend and I’m sure his spirit will be with you every time you think of him and everytime he thinks of you. Beautiful pictures of him too.

  9. Lester, Herb says:

    Deborah … Sorry for your loss. Pats are great companions and a lot comfort to all who take the time to enjoy their true friendship!

    Sent from my iPad

  10. Ogee says:

    Deborah, the love of a dog is like no other – so uncomplicated and true. I am so sorry for the loss of your beloved Bayard. What quiet and sadness now – but what joy to have shared your time together. He is waiting for you – over the rainbow bridge.

  11. Emily Heath says:

    Oh Deborah, he looks so wise. I am sure he loved his life with you.

  12. thefolia says:

    Oh, bless his heart…he looks so brave! Courage.

  13. Susan says:

    sorry to hear about your beloved petenjoy your blog

  14. wildsherkin says:

    Deborah, so sorry to hear your sad news. What a lovely poem. It captures the essence of that special bond between dogs and humans. Your faithful friend has left so many happy memories and I know you will always cherish them and him. P

  15. E A M Harris says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of Noble Bayard’s death. Like all departed loved ones he will live on in memory and love.

  16. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss Deborah. Our family dog died two years ago and I still visit my mom’s expecting him to greet me. He suffered a lot in the end and we all knew it was coming. I know the Noble Bayard had a wonderful life with you. Hopefully he left peacefully and happy.

  17. maedez says:

    Oh, I am so sorry about your sweet doggie! What a handsome, handsome fellow. It has been 3 years since our beloved Nassau died, and we still mourn him.

  18. My heart hurts for you. I so understand. My Schatzie has been gone almost 2 years and I miss her everyday. Dog is God spelled backwards and they are the true embodiment of unconditional love. If I ever get a home, not an apartment, I’ll go look for a rescue dog that won’t outlive me. They miss their people more than most of us realize. I too, miss my dog more than family members. Take all the time you need. Healing comes…slowly. Hugs Marlene Herself

  19. Please accept my condolences, Deb. Losing a friend and companion is such a hard thing. You picked a most perfect poem.

  20. I’m so sorry for your loss. A beloved animal fills a huge part of our hearts. It’s sad when they’re gone. Thanks for sharing with us.

  21. So very sorry for the loss of your beloved friend….our pets are special family.

  22. Mark Doyle says:

    “We who choose to surround ourselves with lives even more temporary than our own, live within a fragile circle, easily and often breached. Unable to accept its awful gaps, we still would live no other way. We cherish memory as the only certain immortality, never fully understanding the necessary plan.”-Irving Townsend

  23. Kevin-Andrew says:

    I sorry for your loss. His spirit will always be there in your heart.

  24. I am so sad for your loss ~ we lost our beloved 17 yr old cat so I understand. xoxo

  25. So sorry to hear of this, sending my sympathies….

  26. Jar Of Salt says:

    Such painful news. I’m so sorry 😦

  27. Our whole pack is sending our love to you and to The Noble Bayard. We wish you happy memories and a peaceful heart.

  28. So sorry to hear of the loss of your beautiful boy.

  29. […] I donated this one for one of my very first blogger friends, Deborah at Romancing the Bee and her beloved companion recently departed – the Noble Bayard. […]

Leave a Reply

