Beautiful Beekeeping – Happy Birthday To Me!

I came in from tending to my hives over an hour ago, so hot and sweaty it took me a full hour to make absolutely sure I wasn’t dying of heat stroke.

I stumbled into the house and ripped off my bee suit like someone on fire.  Then I lay on my fainting cushion in the drawing room, wondering why I ever took up beekeeping.

No, this morning’s  visit to The Girls wasn’t a bit fun.  Even worse, I hurried my inspection along without spending enough time to make sure everyone was okay.  Ieven turned a blind eye to a Small Hive Beetle scuttling along one of the frames. For shame!

After being fairly certain I was going to live, I made a momentous decision. I was going to throw frugality to the winds and buy one of those $260.00  “Ultra Breeze” bee suits I’ve been eyeing since last May.  Gosh darn it, next week is my birthday and I deserve to buy myself something pretty!!

And boy, is this suit pretty!  A veritable wonder of the bee suit makers’ art!!

bee suit 2

ultraBreeze_suit1

The Sting-Proof yet breezy fabric is ingenious!!

fabric

VeilZipper

 

I’m so excited!  Happy Birthday to Me!!

29 thoughts on “Beautiful Beekeeping – Happy Birthday To Me!

  1. Fancy Shmancy. Happy birthday to you!

  2. The best birthday present is one that feeds our loves and habits…Happy Birthday!!

  3. HB says:

    I got an Ultra-breeze for my birthday, too! Have worn it once so far when it was mid-80s and sunny. Perfectly comfortable. It is very well designed, and expertly constructed. I hope you are as happy with yours as I am with mine. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  4. Congrats! I agree that heat is going to do me in one of these days when I am suited up. I need to look into buying one, it is pretty pricey!

  5. Happy Almost Birthday!
    I hear you about the hot and hurried inspection. I did the same one last week and I am still feeling bad about being rough with the girls…It is always more fun when I am calm and slow. Hope the new suit keeps you all happier!
    -jeanne, http://www.domesticspace.com

  6. MsSopia says:

    Happy Birthday to you.

  7. maedez says:

    Happy, happy birthday!

  8. Dammmagic@aol.com says:

    Heat can be tricky here in Hawaii also, glad you are going to take care of yourself, people forget. Bees are beautiful, but only if you take care of you, it’s a mothering thing. Truly enjoy this blog. Was able to visit both Malta and Delphi made connection between the two entwining civilizations. Suspect humans are here to serve bees.not vice a versa, Malta means honey. Do have a honey rich birthday. Collected honey and water from many Sacred Sites suspect understanding of honey is far from uncovered. Honey to you to on your day. Darlene Schmidt, Hilo, Hawaii

  9. LUV your new Birthday Suit. 😉 Enjoy!

  10. Happy Birthday honey and happy girl can watch her bees better and gather more from the hive!

  11. Kevin-Andrew says:

    Happy, happy birthday!

  12. Happy birthday and enjoy your new “suit”.

  13. It’s a birthday frenzy. Happy Birthday to us! Good for you for taking care of yourself. Trust me, you DO NOT want to risk heat stroke. It’s sneaks up on you and does some permanent damage. Had one at 10 and yes, thought I was dying. Suit should be an insurance write off. 😉

  14. Emily Heath says:

    I like the look of that! Happy birthday.

  15. Amy Marrero Doyle says:

    Absolutely happy birthday to you! XOXO

  16. Gotta get myself one those bad girls. Am I too early or too late-my birthday was in May. Ah well, there’s always Christmas. Happy belated birthday!

  17. […] can eat fabric when faced with an Ultra Breeze–the rocket science of bee suits.  Deborah at Romancing the Bee got one. These bees have got to learn that fair is fair! (Three Stooges come to mind:  […]

  18. Want! What a fabulous bee suit? Now do they come in different colours…

Leave a Reply

