NaNoWriMo

It’s that time again!!

Romancing the Bee

It’s that time of year again.  November 1.  A day that I both dread and anxiously anticipate.

On November 1, literally thousands of writers tackle the challenge of writing a 50,000-word novel in one month during an event known as National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo for short.

It’s hard to explain the program – and even harder to describe why anyone would sign up to create 1,667 words a day (that’s the pace you need to maintain to finish on time) – and yet it’s become phenomenally popular, with an estimated 300,000 writers from around the world participating this year.

This is my second year participating. Last year I completed a supernatural mystery entitled “Promises to the Dead”. I’m still editing it. That pesky cookbook “Cooking With Honey” got in my way.  🙂

NaNoWriMo began in 1991, the brainchild of freelance writer Chris Baty, with “20 other overcaffeinated yahoos,”…

View original post 452 more words

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. betsydaley says:

    I’m doing it, too :- ) determined to “win” this year. Old Dell laptop picked Day 1 to die (glad its not Day 29) so went online to order new MacBook Air. Had to be done! Meanwhile writing in Notes app of iPhone. Pen/paper just don’t work. My novel is Poisonville. That’s all can say about it right now.
    Maybe could be writing buddies on NaNoWriMo website?!

  2. Mac says:

    I’ve got to look into this. I’ve written several books that I never get around to submitting for publication. (I think they call that fear of success.) I think I could do 50,000 words in a month. Maybe next year. With enough chocolate and coffee, I could be inspired. Seriously, though, I do admire all of you who are doing it. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

